Skip navigation

I am trying out a new paper. It is Lanaquerelle 140 lb rough. I like it. A lot! It is a little softer than Arches rough and seems to stay wet longer, allowing me to play with washes a little longer. I have also painted on this namebrand’s coldpress paper in the same weight and like it, too.Β  I just wish it was not more expensive. How many times, my lifetime, have I heard, “You get what you pay for”.

The above is from a reference photo provided by a friend. The black hues were created using harvest gold, alizarin crimson and prussian blue, in that order. The grays were made with lighter shades (watered down) of the same colors. I am playing around with using other colors to make colors I want rather than rushing to the tube color every time I paint.

 

45 Comments

  1. Beautiful! I love Lanaquarelle, too – there’s something velvety and soft about it.

    • I think I am going to keep it on hand, along with the Arches. It is velvety and becomes softer as you paint on it. Good way to describe it. Thank you, Anne!

  2. He’s a very cute beagle. I am trying to make my own colors too, as my supply is limited so far. It makes you really think about the colors.

    • When I first began painting, I didn’t realize all the color I had at my fingertips with just a few colors. I also did not know which colors were darks, which were more transparent, etc. I believe it takes a little bit of that kind of knowledge to begin to have some freedom with watercolor. But! The medium really will treat anyone well who decides to explore. You are an explorer…… Thank you, Ruth.

  3. Awesome watercolor!

  4. Beautiful Les. You pick up the essence of the canine friends with such detail. I love beagles and this one is represented so well.

    • Thank you, Nancy. You know how much I enjoy painting animals, especially dogs and horses.

  5. Very good. Reminds me of Rascal, our beagle.

    • Love that name Tim. I love it when something I paint reminds a viewer of someone or something. Thank you.

  6. Excellent work as always…he’s adorable. πŸ™‚

  7. Great Beagle. I call them ‘bugles’ because of their holler. I have used Lana cold press for years and it is my favorite. I am so used to it that other paper causes getting used to the way it works.

    • Great name, ‘bugles’. Made me chuckle. I have never had a beagle, but have lived with a basset hound so I know the holler as well as the ‘baaaa-loooooh’! πŸ™‚ Thank you, Gretchen.

  8. Awwww, what a great looking beagle. Thanks for sharing your colors for “black”. I love his snout, nose and whiskers. Beautiful beagle ears and eye. You are amazing when painting animals.

    • Wow. Thankyou. The snout was hard to figure out the values and the shapes to get it right. I always get to those whiskers and get tense because just a jiggle, a slip or loading too much water on the brush messes a whisker up. Thanks for noticing the difficult areas to paint, Carol.

  9. Feel like petting him!Cute! The paper looks like heavy counts cloth, cool!

    • It does look like cloth, Padmaja. Thank you for that comment about petting him.

  10. It’s hard going through life with a Queen’s taste for quality! Glad you have it, Leslie. And those eyes. You really know how to capture them. Lucky animals being able to count on you creating their beauty.

    • I think you are right about it being hard having a Queen’s taste, because I cannot always afford the taste. But, you know what? A little can go a long way if I use a little here and a little there. Thank you for that about creating an animal’s beauty!

  11. What an awesome job on this pretty Beagle! I like hearing about how you made the black tones. At this point, I use the black from the tube. LOL I don’t use straight tube colors all of the time, though. That is something, yes? I’ve painted on several surfaces, though this is not one of them. To date, I find I like the Arches Aquarelle the best but I admit I haven’t tried the more expensive papers. I find the Arches expensive too.

    • Arches is great. That is what I ask my students to purchase. The techniques work great on itand it can take the collaging and scratching and glueing and other mediums that we expose it to in our watercolor plus class. Arches is what I use the most, hot, cold and rough pressed. I like the cheaper papers for quick sketches and the more expensive papers for a treat and to see how they differ. You are right, Sherry. Arches is not cheap, either. Thank you, Sherry.

  12. Love it! This is wonderful, Leslie! I have been doing my building portraits on Canson and Arches and I would love a paper that stayed wet longer. I may have to check this out. Thanks for the tip. πŸ™‚

    • I think you would be pleased with this paper, Beth. You are experienced on working on more varied surfaces than I have. Thank you for the comment! πŸ™‚

  13. Playing with colors–indeed you are.
    So Leslie, if you were going to paint inside a cave, on the walls and ceiling how would you go about it?
    Hmm? Serious question as I’ve been looking at lots of photos of cave art recently. I love some of the colors and all of the art–painted and engraved.
    Hello.

    • I read, on your blog that you were looking at cave art. I have no idea what I’d use but enamel paint? Ink? Don’t know…. Stories told in stone. Pretty cool. Watercolor would definitely be out as it would be gone the first time the stone would sweat.

      • Hmm. Have you ever attempted to recreate the “style” with watercolors on paper?

      • I told the story of your poem that time. Does that count? I’m not so sure their style was anything more than what any artist’s style is; a reflection of their vision and how they use the tools of their chosen art form combined with their personal skill.

  14. A great reminder to simplify our palette. Something I am thinking about. But which ones to choose??? That is the difficulty! You are a master with animals. It shows how much you love them, and how important they are to you! This one is so touching. I can follow his gaze!

    • Oh, don’t get rid of all your colors! I find, as I simplify, that I still need the others for other paintings. I may do something with red, yellow, blue and then switch to violet, green, orange; or something else may touch my fancy and I need Andrews Turquoise or Halloween Orange for something and I just let go! It is important, to me, to explore these different combinations just because I want to broaden my understanding. Sometimes it is “just because”. Where I can really see a limited palette coming in handy is like what you do when you paint out on your hiking trips. The less you have to carry, the better. You do a great job painting in the great outdoors. Thank you for your comments, Isabelle!

  15. What a beautiful pup! And the paper does have a certain rich character. The question is, would I have noticed if you hadn’t mentioned the paper? I don’t know! Wonderful how you achieved the dark colors and almost certainly got a better result than plain old black because it blends in so nicely. (Eeek the holiday seasons have messed with my blogging! Most of my recent work is for secret santa swaps so I can’t post it!) πŸ™‚

    • You probably would not have noticed had I not mentioned it. One can assume it is rough paper of some sort, but I have two other namebrand roughs that I like that give off a texture similar to this. They all respond to the water and the color differently, though. I am working a lot on discovering what different colors do together. Not in any studious way such as making blocks of color, but as I paint. I don’t have the patience to make the blocks of color.
      I understand “secret Santa”. Just think of how many you will have to post following the Holidays!!!
      Thank you, Cindy! πŸ™‚

  16. I always like your animal portraits. And thanks for sharing the recipe for your darks, they really glow. Charles Reid prefers Bokingford for the same reason you liked this sheet I think. He also moves his colours around on the paper. You have been working hard I see.

    • Hi Stephen,
      Bockingford is a challenge for me. It is super soft and doesn’t respond as well to the layering I like to do, but can understand why Charles Reid likes it. He paints effortlessly and quickly and achieves his darks with much less work than I seem to have to rely on. He is soooo good! Thank you for this comment! πŸ™‚

      • Mmm that is true – he sometimes starts a painting with the dark – really dark. That takes a kind of courage. Perhaps the courage to take the risk of messing up before you have even begun. But as he says – the effortless look is carefully constructed and takes A LOT of effort – (o:

      • I like that thought about the risk of messing up when you’ve just begun. Interesting.

  17. Fabulous!

  18. Hi dear leslie. this is a funny dog ,you have painted.

  19. by the way , I have some questions abou prices of some paints (watercolor, oil ,…) I will send you an email, please ask my questions , thank you Dear teacher

    • Hi Zeinab,
      Thank you fpor the visit and the comment. I replied, via email, to your question. πŸ™‚

  20. You’ve done so well with this painting, Leslie, (Sorry I’ve been rather absent lately. I’ve a lot of catching up to do.)

    I’ve never been able to paint on rough-textured paper. It suits your work, though. Lovely.

    • Thankyou, Val. I get somewhat impatient with the swelling of the rough paper, but enjoy the ability to lift and move paint around longer. I grab a hairdryer if I get impatient and dry the area. ( I have not been very steady or prompt with blogging for about a year and a half, now. I am hoping to remedy that soon.)

  21. Wonderful! You caught his intensity too…

    • Oh thank you. Just what I needed because I just drew out two portraits of a friend of mine’s two collies. Your praise will go a long way to help me through painting them, Jamie.


Leave a Reply

