Skip navigation

My Watercolor Plus class has been working away on trying to complete a painting a week; each one using a different medium with watercolor.

The photo reference for the above painting came from one of my students. Thank you to Dawn!

If you enlarge the above painting times three,  you will be able to see

the different rice papers I used for the nest leaves and grasses and the citrasolve collage papers I used for the adult bird’s feathers.  Just another way I enjoy working with watercolor.

For more on citrasolv click here. For more on rice papers and watercolor click here.

34 Comments

  1. Fantastic!

  2. Composition is interesting and detailed. I love the bird’s wings.

    • Thank you, Nancy. This one was fun to bring out that detail with. I want to do this one again and change colors and techniques with it.

  3. gorgeous Leslie!

  4. Hi Leslie. You always astound me at how creative you get with the rice and citrasolv papers.

    I love the bird with the open mouth tweeting “feed me”. I also love the side of the building and the grasses on the wrought iron. Beautiful.

    • When I ever have time, I’d like to immerse myself into working this way on multiple paintings. Thank you for this comment, Carol.

  5. It all comes together beautifully!

  6. I’m late! It was definitely worth enlarging this painting in order to examine the birds up close with their astonishing detail. The feather colours of the parent bird are lovely! It must have been tricky to ensure he/she stood out against the complex colours of the nest box. I really like the way you’ve painted the foliage as well. All in all a very enjoyable, excellent piece Leslie.

  7. I love the nature that paint reflects, a few moments in the natural behavior of the birds. But still the hand of the mankind remains for recreate this beautiful moments.

    Ironic we also can create for the future.

    Nice work,

    High five!

  8. Reblogged this on Phaeto and commented:
    Me encanta la naturaleza que la pintura refleja, unos momentos en el comportamiento natural de los pájaros. Pero aún queda la mano de la humanidad para recrear estos hermosos momentos.

    Irónico también podemos crear para el futuro.

    Buen trabajo,

    Dame 5!

    • Hi Antonio? Is that correct? The birds are house wrens I believe. The reference photo for this was given to me by one of my students. She took the picture and said the birds come every year. They peck and peck at the outside of the house. That is why the paint is all chipped off. Thank you for re-posting this and for your comment.

      • Yes is correct. I love that beautiful photo.

  9. Wow, this has really become a great watercolor. A small content question. The bird chick is a cuckoo, right?

  10. Love the painting!

  11. It is very nice to see art in my discover part of the blogs, thank you. 🙂 In what genre is your painting?

  12. It looks wonderful!

  13. Aahh.. Its beautiful and something that I would also like to paint.. I use acrylics but interestingly love the texture of these water colors..Happy Coloring 🌼

  14. Great work!

  15. Wow.. Its beautiful.. I draw but I’m not really much of a painter

  16. Reblogged this on BCSBook Reviews and News.

  17. Beautiful painting I just love it😁👌😎

  18. This is awesome 👏🏼

  19. This is absolutely beautiful. I was completely drawn in by it. The many layers and textures, in addition to the content, captivated my attention and begged a long, close look. Inn the end, it’s just plain peaceful to look at and makes me happy! I’d like to sit in the shade with some iced tea and watch the live scene. Thanks for sharing your talents!

  20. Please do visit my blog Hema’s litcafe , let i know your suggestions and comments and plz like and share ma posts.

  21. Reblogged this on maisysabredavid.

  22. wow amazing

  23. This is gorgeous! Tons of movement.

  24. Amazing. I like how the bird house looks weathered. Usually birds will wait until a nest box/bird house is weathered because it looks more natural and they feel safer inside of it. Very realistic

  25. Lovely.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] via For the Birds! — Leslie White […]

  2. By For the Birds! — Leslie White | softwebtech on 24 Jul 2017 at 5:33 am

    […] via For the Birds! — Leslie White […]

Leave a Reply

