Skip navigation

songsparrows

HAPPY SPRING EVERYONE!

29 Comments

  1. It’s a little cold and cloudy today for the first day of spring and then I saw your post and immediately smiled. I like both birds one looking at me and one singing. The blue wire stands out. It almost looks like barbed wire to me. And the spring green and the background is beautiful. Wonderful painting Leslie.

    • You nailed it. It is barbed wire. The last assignment for my advanced class was to paint birds on a wire before coming back this week. I had to do that bird on the left. He just cracked me up; like he’d heard enough singing already. πŸ™‚ Thank you for this comment, Carol.

  2. Wonderful!! Watercolor is my medium as well and this is just great!

  3. Terrific style to them, and they are so adorable! And their tiny knobbly feet! Happy spring indeed. πŸ˜€

    • Drawing those feet and painting them was my favorite part of the painting. The barbed wire was interesting to get right, also. Thank you for this, Cindy. πŸ™‚

  4. This is just wonderful in every way!

  5. These two are so sweet and happy looking. I love it when the spring birds arrive in our area for the mating season. The forest cries with a chorus of happy birds. The painting shows the softness of their feathers. Very nice.

    • Thank you, so much! I think your love of nature rubbed off on me a bit this time! πŸ™‚

  6. I’m sure the one on the left wishes that his mate would shut up! I can hear him singing too. Lovely painting – good spring colours!

    • Ha! You got it! That one on the left wishes the other would stop! Thank you, designsweet!

  7. Beautiful birds!! A gorgeous image to sing in spring! 😍

  8. Happy Spring to you Leslie! Such expressive birds. One looks so happy and is singing for all to hear and the other maybe not so much. Made me smile!

    • Thank you, Susan. The one on the left has about had it with the other’s singing. πŸ™‚

  9. Spring in Portland in, of course, a rain day. What else would it be???? Birds on a wire. Perfect!!
    Lovely, Leslie.
    Two ways to take comment.
    Take both!
    Raye

    • I can imagine. So far we have only had one gully washer. Today was cold but nice and sunny and birds singing and chattering up a storm. Thank you, Jots! Hope you get a sunny day soon!

  10. Happy Spring to you too and thank you for the gift of this bird painting!

  11. Hi Leslie, I have come across your work whilst studying for my art project, would I be able to do an artist research on you? (this includes basic background info and a bit about your work) I have tried looking online but cant find the info anywhere! thank you

    • Thank you for your interest in my work, Jennifer. I will contact you.

  12. AAaw! The birds are so cute! They must be babies with those fluffy feathers – just enough detail and the colours work so well to my eyes – would make a great card, haha! Hope you’re enjoying the Easter holiday.

    • This one will probably be used for a greeting card at some point, June. Thank you about the Easter Holiday as well as you taking the time to comment.

  13. What cute little birds. I heard some peepers a week or so ago, but the cold weather has quieted them for now. Spring bird song is starting to creep out on the warmer days.

    • The birds have been chirping up a storm up here. But…..just maybe it is because my neighbor puts out seed and all sorts of treats for them. πŸ™‚ Thank you for the comment, Ruth.

  14. I can hear one bird singing and the other like me listening. Love the touch of green that brings out the essence of the spring song. Lovely painting.

    • Thank you for that about the “essence of green”. That is exactly what I was shooting for with the shade I chose, Padmaja.


Leave a Reply

