Skip navigation

facesilly

 

facefrown

 

We just finished working on gouache resists in my class. If you would like to try this technique, I have described the process here. I have used this technique for a landscape, animals, and still life but had not tried a human portrait. I used a really interesting book titled “Facial Expressions” by Mark Simon. It is a book of references of hundreds of expressions done by people of all ages to be used as reference material. I want to try doing a family member in gouache resist. This was an interesting project and fun to do.

18 Comments

  1. You explore so many techniques and subjects. Your blog is a joy to follow.

    • Thank you very much, Sand Salt Moon. I try, now, to pick up something new to do with watercolor each summer. I really believe that “one way” is not for everyone and we all go in search of ways to express what we see and feel. Some students like one thing while others like another.

      • I’m interested in trying watercolor on gessoed paper, the batiking method and so much more. Thanks for broadening my horizons.

      • You are welcome. If you are ever struggling with anything new you are trying that I have posted, feel free to email me. I think you get my email address when I comment on your blog. Oh. It may be helpful to know that I do all these techniques on Arches 140lb. colpress paper. I even glue the masa paper to 140lb Arches coldpress. It seems to be the best work horse of a paper to withstand these techniques.

  2. You certainly picked some interesting expressions, Leslie. LOL I think I might be intimidated with all of the preplanning required, though.

    • Ha! I actually do not think you would have a hard time with this. Your house portraits seem very delicate and time consuming, also. Thank you for this comment, Ruth!

  3. OMG! I opened your post and just smiled and smiled. These are excellent. How fun!

    • Thank you! 🙂 I always think your posts are so interesting and they always make me chuckle, Carol. I thought of you when I selected which expressions I wanted to render. Your comment just made my day!

  4. Amazing , how a medley of lines give out unique expressions, very interesting Leslie!

  5. Striking portraits, no holds barred. I like the second one especially, I think I’ve worked with her !

    • Ha! Ha! She was so much fun to try and get, too, with that nose and crooked frown! Thank you Outside Authority.

  6. Ha-haaa! Great fun to look at and a very interesting technique that (obviously) works well for a variety of subjects – I do find it pleasing to see the various contours of the face outlined like that.

    • These were the most fun, these portraits, because they come out so different and just push the boundaries a little. Thank you for that “Ha-haaa!” and the comment, June.

  7. You are just waaaay too busy. You make my head spin. You make my mind explode. You make me wish I lived next door to you…maybe not right next door…but close enough for me to peer into your windows from time to time…and knock on your door to let me in when I want to see what you are up too….and join in in real life and not just through my computer screen….
    In any event yours “shares” always give me a kick in the bum when needed….!!! Thanks for that….Raye

    • That would be a blast to share art explorations with you. You are so creative! Thank you, Jots!

  8. I enjoy how graphically expressive this technique can be.

    • Kind of like a block print I think, Al. I try to approach it more like a reverse value study and gouache in the areas that are the lightest. Thank you for this comment!


Leave a Reply

