Skip navigation

masalion

This lion was painted on masa paper, a rice paper that can be crinkled, soaked in water, toned, dried and glued to the surface of watercolor paper in order to provide a watercolor artist a different surface to paint on. The textural possibilities are varied and, oftentimes, very interesting. They, generally, take me longer to paint, but the extra time spent is well worth it. I have several tutorials. The first one is located here. The update is located here.

If you would like to view a selection of the paintings I have completed on masa, just click the tag, masa paper, under the title of this post.

26 Comments

  1. Awesome I love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Very nice,Leslie!!!

  3. Wonderfully gorgeous~

  4. I love your technique. I’m going to give a try when I paint my orchid presently blooming

    • I think this would be a wonderful surface for an orchid. Thank you, Bilomathews.

  5. Very cool Leslie!

  6. Outstanding Leslie!

  7. I just looked at the original tutorial – and that is so cool. I enjoyed seeing the large washes and how they worked in with the finished cat (domestic cat!) that time. This one of the big cat looks so awesome. Thanks for sharing the technique.

    • Thank you for taking time to check out the tutorial of the house cat, Sand Salt Moon. This paper really offers something extra and I never know what I’m going to get on it in the way of how the texture takes the pigment. It is fun.

  8. Regardless of the fine technique your lion is so tender.โ˜บ๏ธ

  9. Wonderful Leslie!

  10. I love him Leslie! He is so peaceful in rest but would we want to meet him when he is awake?

    • Probably not dare go near him, methinks. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you, Susan!

  11. Wow, totally gorgeous! What a proud fella, even sleeping.

  12. I love your work on masa paper. And this lion is majestic. Immediately the song “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” popped into my head and now I can’t stop singing it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Stunningly impressive and beautiful picture

    • Thank you, Neil. When I paint an animal on this textured paper, it seems to be a hit or miss. The paper lends itself better to abstract and landscape. Just have to give it a try on animals once in awhile. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

