Skip navigation

Anna Bell4

Anna Bell4

We began this drawing class by learning to “see”, drawing objects, blindly, with what is called blind continuous line. We, then, drew continuous line drawings while looking, paying careful attention to the cross contours in our subject material.

Todd Dunn2

Todd Dunn2

We studied negative space and began to recognize when we could use the shape and space behind an object to help us describe the subject.

Alan Pareis3

Alan Pareis3

The students worked very hard to begin to see perspective and to measure the angles of lines with their pencils. They used a corner of a room as their subject.

Vanessa Fankhauser4

Vanessa Fankhauser4

During the fourth week, they cut photos in strips and practiced laying in three values. They worked from black and white as well as color photos to do this.

Alan Pareis2

Alan Pareis2

They studied the values they saw in a glass, still life study.

Myrna Nelson4

Myrna Nelson4

They learned to grid a photograph and measure and enlarge that photograph by creating a proportionate grid on their drawing paper.

Todd Dunn

Todd Dunn

They studied drawing their self portraits. If you wish to view a larger selection of their drawings you can find them by clicking here or by scrolling to the top of the page and clicking on the small label Student Art: Beginning Drawing.  If you click on each drawing, they will enlarge. Thank you to all the fine artists who took this class!

12 Comments

  1. I love looking at what you have taught your students to create. Always makes me feel as though I, too, can become an artist. Almost finished building my workshop, so will have a place to do it soon!

    • What a wonderful thing; a workshop! Everything happens, here, in my living space and I constantly am having to de-clutter and re-organize. Yes. I know you can create and draw. You are one of the most talented photographers I know and have an eye for composition. Thank you for your visit and comment, Kate.

  2. Wonderful drawing students!

    • Thank you, Nancy. I still have the copy of your continuous line drawing of a horse on my refrigerator! 🙂

  3. I am learning and still a student too. I believe in a lifetime of learning. Great stuff. Their work is wonderful! Very talented students.

  4. Wow. What a fab class

  5. Learning sound drawing skills are fundamental to creating good paintings – I still struggle with perspective occasionally. It’s so good to see what your class are producing – well done all!

    • Oh my goodness. I know what you mean. I try to keep it as simple as possible when I teach perspective. Thank you, June!

  6. All of these drawing exercises are so important and your students did a fantastic job!


Leave a Reply

