Skip navigation

fallfarm

 

keystoneconcrete

 

Those of you, who follow my blog, know that I and a friend spent the summer learning to paint from a monochromatic rendering and transform it with splatter and drips and color. The explanation of how to approach these is found here and here.

I shared this process with my watercolor landscape classes this fall. The above paintings are a result of my demos and explanations for these classes. The top one is a composite of several different photo references I had taken. The horses are from one farm, not this one. The high tension wires were from yet another farm than the one I chose to sit in the distance. Tip on “how to” wires? I lightly used a graphite pencil, first. Then I painted them really carefully with a rigger and paynes gray, resting my hand on the paper and dragging the brush at a 45 degree angle as I slid my hand across the paper. I softened and blurred those wires with light rubbings of a magic eraser so they would appear to fade and return, varying the values of the wires in spots. I used liguid frisket to preserve the white of the paper on barn roofs, white buildings and the foreground horses. I had to splatter those areas following painting in the details. That painting developed, gradually, and changed with every layer I painted into it.

The concrete works piece was purely experimental on my part. I wanted to see if I could create something a little different and unique with interesting shapes.

I will continue to create paintings like this. I like all that goes into them and the fact that I’m always creating something new with each and every one.

25 Comments

  1. Leslie, you’ve really taken this technique and turned it into your own style. In both paintings you have depth which brings my eye into the painting and the the splatters which brings my eye back to the flatness of the paper. Great fun! Great paintings.

    • Thank you, Carol. I like working this way. I want to get drippier and runnier with my splatters, but don’t really know how to manipulate my board to get what I want, yet. I had the most fun creating the farm one. Thank you for teaching me this!

  2. These paintings are wonderful!!! I hope your holiday season is filled with joy, Leslie!

  3. Love the fearlessness in your approach Leslie, your experiment has ended in a unique style, beautiful pieces!

  4. I echo Carol K.’s. Comment. I, too, like the adventure of what takes place between start to finish. Inspiring. Again!

  5. I really like the nicely detailed paintings under the splatters; not too sure about the splatters. Kudos to you for taking a lovely painting to attempt new art techniques for learning and growth.

    • I understand what you are saying. These both began with a detailed monochromatic in Paynes gray and then I go on. Some of my students felt the same way about trying this and thought disturbing a pretty emulation of the reference rather pointless. Others grabbed hold of it like I did. I am not getting exactly what I envision each time but the farm one came the closest so far.

      • Wow, you did receive a lot of feedback on that experiment from your students. I guess we all paint with what’s comfortable for us through our art expression. Thanks for sharing your class demonstrations with your viewers.

  6. I particularly like the first painting. It contains the rainy days that we have been having…..the soaked leaves on the ground…..the ominous clouds. Very nice…splashed with feeling.😌

    • Oh thank you! That is what I saw. The dark and damp last days of fall, freezing nights, rainy days, bursts of cold wind. 🙂

  7. You see my latest rabbit art?

    • Inese Poga Art Gallery
    • Posted December 5, 2014 at 3:41 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    These look just excellent! You are always very innovative, I like that!

  8. Wow, I just love these! Both, but especially the buildings and the truck. The color on the buildings and the 3D effect of that truck is just so cool! And the metal pipes details. Ah, this is so impressive. I wonder if I will draw or paint long enough to make something as perfectly great as that. I think doing new things can be the greatest thing. 🙂

    • Thank you, Cindy. You made my day! I agree with you about doing new things. I have always admired your creativity. Approaching a splattered and dripped on monochromatic study does help me to be more creative. Thank you for talking about that truck and the metal pipes. Oh my, I wondered how that one was going to turn out. 🙂

  9. I love what you do with this technique! It brings such interest to an otherwise ordinary scene! I am very moved by your painting of the cow pasture… the colors, the light, the peacefullness… Well done!

    • I love that one, too, Isabel. Splish, splash and then figure out how to bring it home! This is so much how the farms look as the weather begins to turn cold and we get frost at night and the sky is doing its foray of rain, sleet and getting ready for that first snow. Thank you!

  10. Try using a ruling pen for a thin lines like wires. You load it up with paint ( as watery as you want) using your paintbrush. You can get some very fine lines with it. Though I love the method you described. Ruling pens are usually founf in the design tools area of an art supply store. I used to use it to handletter type and draw very thin rules for pasteups and mechanicals.

  11. Brilliant…. I love every bit of this one.
    Words cannot even describe

    • Thank you, so much, Chelsey. I really like doing these splatter paintings. It’s like, “Okay, it’s already jumbled up so fix it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

