Skip navigation

This week I chose one of my monochromatic paintings from last week’s post and painted it in color.  The most fun was carving out the areas of light and trying to figure out the fading cliff on the left and the deep darks on the lower right. I had to change the colors of the cliffs to balance the red neutrals in that dark area on the lower right. I was pleasantly surprised that it did not change my feeling about the scene.  I also included yellow to enhance the idea of bright light in areas.

Thank you to Wiletta Blevins for having gifted the photo reference of this scene to me. I want to try this one on masa paper and with citra-solv collage.  I have never worked the same piece over and over again, but I am not bored with this one yet. Has that ever happened to you?

28 Comments

  1. This is gorgeous, Leslie. You kept your trail of white through the painting! Amazing light and shadow!!!

  2. The intensity of light and the color values are a spot on , Leslie, the depth achieved is amazing!

  3. It’s very beautiful, Leslie. I love the light in it and how it seems to play with the leaves.

  4. This is beautiful, Leslie, truly. I am reminded of our Starved Rock State Park here in Illinois too. And nope, that has never happened to me. In fact, I often get bored with a piece halfway through it!

    • I think the lady who took the photo for this said she took it somewhere in the south like Kentucky or Tennessee. That isn’t too far from Illinois. Me too. I’m usually done with a reference photo once I paint one painting from it. I like this one and can see a lot of different ways I could try to portray it. Thank you, Sherry!

  5. Wow! The light really is spectacular. I particularly like the brightness at the top of the stair between the trees branches. it’s such a different result than the black and white but equally great!

    • Thank you. Cindy. I actually concentrated with an extra effort to retain that bright light at the top of the stairs and soften the values of the rocks there. I think this is the first time that has really “worked” for me. Makes me feel good that you noticed. 🙂

  6. This is lovey, Leslie! 🙂

  7. watching your progress and experimentation has gotten my juices flowing again I almost started a painting to day.

    • I am honored. Thank you, Richard. You are a phenomenal landscape artist!

  8. So rich and full. An enticing stairway. Luscious.

    On Thu, Nov 1, 2012 at 10:31 AM, Leslie White

  9. Fantastic, love it!

  10. Leslie, I love this. Your question about working on the same piece over and over… I’ve started doing this with the last piece I worked on, but using different medium and techniques. I’ve started with prints in linocuts, use the linocut to print/emboss clay and then did a pastel. Having fun with it.

    • Hi Jerri!
      Your process sounds so interesting! I’ll bet the results are too! Thank you for taking time to answer that question and for the comment.

  11. I like looking at the shifting patterns you have going in this watercolor!

    • That is one of the things I noticed in this, Al, which makes me want to try a collage of this piece. Thank you!

  12. Very inviting walk up the stairs. I would love to see the effects of the masa paper here.

    • I hope to do that masa paper at some point, with this. Thank you, Ruth. I do wonder what there is at the top of those stairs. 🙂

  13. Unusual subject matter – and it works really well. 🙂

    • Thank you, Val. I liked playing with the shapes and light in this one.

  14. The light in this is rich with energy. And I love the red neutrals and greens.

    • Thank you, Jruth. I am working hard on capturing the light in my paintings as of late. I miss on that score sometimes.


Leave a Reply

