Skip navigation

I’d, first, like to thank Carol King for the gift of this award.  In her words, “The award originated in Germany in 2009-2010 and it was for blogs with less than 3000 followers.”  The person awarded this blog award must tell 5 things about himself /herself that their readers may not know.

The above is me writing five things about myself to share with you.

1. I have had many jobs this lifetime. They include lifeguard, dishwasher, nurses’ aide, EMT, school teacher, donut fryer, breadbaker, horse trainer/riding instructor, and I still don’t know what I want to be.

2. I have three constant companions named Payton, Lucy and Tucker. Tucker is the one with the stains around his eyes, which are no longer there. His friend, me, bugged the vet about it for three visits until he, the vet, figured out he had nasty wisdom teeth that needed removing. But this photo stands because it took me 15 takes to get this picture for a distant friend who wanted to see a photo of my dogs.  Since this is the 15th take, that is why their expressions are a little less than “happy”.  🙂

3. I am an avid reader. Lately, I can’t get enough of history. Currently I am reading about the building of the Panama Canal. I even tackled a HUGE biography of Oppenheimer this year.

4. I am terrified of heights; like standing next to a window in a tall building or next to a railing 2 or more stories up. I am not afraid of flying, however, and will even sit next to a window. Go figure.

5. I gave my left kidney to my son. They left the right one with me because they said they found a stone in it. To this day, I don’t know if they were serious or teasing me.  🙂

The next thing I am to do is gift this award to five other blogs.

Souldipper  Amy inspires me and my soul makes me go there. I have laughed and cried and been inspired by what she shares through her writing.

…northpenninegallery’sblog   I visited Keith’s blog several years ago and was immediately hooked by his drawings and watercolors.

Pointillist Ponderings   This may be a new blog for many of you because it is not J Ruth’s main blog. I am fascinated with line drawings but JRuth has developed a blog all about the dot, not only in art but in nature and other places as well. Take some time to wander around on it. Very insightful!

The World is a Rainbow  Padmaja’s blog is full of colorful and creative paintings and are always accompanied by the artist’s reason or thoughts behind what she has created.

Gretchen Del Rio’s Art Blog  I admire any watercolorist who can render paintings as fresh and clear looking as these. Truly beautiful.

WWII GIS  This is another blog many of you may not have visited. I have been visiting K for a long time. I have really enjoyed following her drawings of soldiers.

I know. That’s six just like Carol did. “Monkey see. Monkey do.”   What can I say?

38 Comments

  1. Ok, I WISH I was so thin and had such cute hair! Love that sketch of you, Leslie. I also love the little glimpses into the real you.

    • Hi Sherry,
      Let’s say I was that thin in “81 when I drew this. It is one of my first drawings of me. I can remember when we had to write about ourselves in school. I really disliked having to do that because I would struggle with what to say. Had the teacher said to just tell five things about yourself, I might have faired better. 🙂 Thank you!

  2. Many congrats. You deserve it!

  3. What a wonderful post. I hope I can get around to check out these sites. They look terrific. I don’t even have time these days to respond to the comments on my own blog. *sigh* I really enjoyed reading the things you shared about yourself. I am also very afraid of heights…. go figure. 🙂

    • I know what you are saying. I have not been able to get around to everyones’ blogs, either. I used to visit bloggers every other to every third day. I hope to be able to return to that as soon as this thorn in my side that I have been dedicating myself to for the last year ends….. I was just over your way last night and decided I would not mind riding that flowerdy truck around town: http://bethparkerart.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/flowerdy-truck-paint-job/ 🙂

  4. Congrats to you, Leslie! Love this post! And thank you for including me in the awards fun. (Me too with the heights vs. flying thing!) :0) Oxo…

    • Thank you, JRuth. I hope others have visited your pointillism blog.

  5. congratulations! And thanks for sharing 5 things about you. I didn’t know some of them. And I liked that you shared the award with six people. 🙂

    • I tried really hard to include things I may not have told you, Carol, blabbermouth that I am. Thank you for the award!

  6. A well deserved award, Leslie. (What a wonderful gift to your son.) Thank you for sharing.

  7. Congrats on the award – I love the whole pay it forward of these things! I loved reading your 5 interesting facts and your dogs are adorable!! It’s so hard to get then to stay still for photos so credit to you for this one! I’m glad I’m not the only grown up who still doesn’t know what they want to be when they grow up!!
    How interesting that you gave your kidney to you son – that’s a real gift from a mum to a son!

    • Somehow I had to let you and a few others know about the dogs, Nicola. I know you have a soft spot for dogs, too. Watching him one day on dialysis is enough to make any Mother gift her kidney. Thank you for your kind comments. 🙂

  8. Congratulations, Leslie. You deserve an award. When I had the Liebster award in my last blog (several times over) it was bloggers with fewer than 30 followers, so – boy has that ever gone up! 😉 I don’t accept awards anymore but it’s good to see who is ‘recommended’. I know quite a lot of the blogs you mentioned and shall have a look at the others.

    By the way, I’m fine with heights but have a fear of falling! (And am also okay flying. Or was – when I did!)

    I love your dogs. So sweet. 🙂

    • Thank you, Val. Maybe it is the ultimate fear of falling and I have not taken the time to consider that, but I always feel like anything High up is moving ( laddres, buildings bridges, etc. Can I really FEEL that? It has often made me wonder. Thank you for that about my dogs! 🙂

  9. Way to go Leslie! You do deserve this award ! And it gives me a chance to learn more about you! I went to the blogs you mentioned! They are indeed fabulous! Congrats my friend !

    • Wasn’t that blog about pointillism, cool? She amazes me with all she finds that is dot related. Thank you for this kind comment Isabelle. 🙂

  10. Hi Leslie! Congrats on the award, you truly deserve, you are one person whom I havent met but by whom I keep getting inspired! Sorry for the delay in responding, I was away on my Italy tour, just got back today and catching up with the mails:-) Thanks a lot for thinking of me and presenting me an award, more than that, your words are an award for me as well, much appreciated, with gratitude.

    • You deserve this award and others, Padmaja. I have followed your blog since I first tripped across it. You inspire me! Italy? How super fantastic. I visited when I was in my late teens with my Grandmother. The stainglass windows in churches and the coliseum and the catacombs stand out in my memory.

  11. Hooray for awards! I think the best part is getting to find out more about you when you answer the questions. Holy cow cute puppies! (Probably not exactly puppies, but like a kid I call them all puppies.) Did not know you worked with horses! I have ridden just a tiny bit but mostly I’m just in awe of the majesty of horses (and for some reason photos of Gypsy Vanners have been popping up everywhere and wow! Beauties! I also love draft horses with their furry feet.)

    Such an interesting group of blogs you mentioned! (One or two I wish updated more! But I know that can be hard when we’re busy or get out of the habit of it.) Wonderful gestural sketch you included!

  12. Congratulations on the award. Thanks for sharing, Leslie. One thing I do know you are… a very talented artist.

  13. Blush and ‘thank you’ my mentor.

  14. Your blog has inspired, educated and helped me so much over the years. I refer to it often, even to my own new students. Keep going and well done, without your posts I would never have continued.

    • 🙂 I believe in you. Always have. I still see those Franck drawings in your work. Probably always will. Thank you.

  15. Leslie, you are a big fat stinker! You never even planted a clue of this award. Thank you so much. I can just imagine you “Lah la lah, la lah…let’s see how long it takes her to discover this.”

    Well, nearly a month. You see, Leslie, I simply had to approach my reading and commenting differently. I ought to write a post about it because I’m learning some blogging friends have thought I’ve “dropped” them. Oh no. It’s just that time has demanded I change.

    I just left a comment long enough to be a post on your latest post. See? That’s my problem. I don’t know how to skim and move on!!

    Thank you. Your presence here and at my place is so precious and so very welcome in my life.

    • Oh sure…I hit the button before I congratulated you and could tell you that the more I learn about you, the more my respect grows. You are one incredible soul.

      • Thank you, Amy for the second comment, above.
        I had to share you with others that may not have found their way to your blog, as yet. I know how very important the messages you send are to all of us and because I grow from what you write. Besides, it’s just plain good. That is why I listed you for this award, so others could find you and because you deserve it.
        As far as answering comments and posting, I have had to slow down for a very important reason that will hopefully find it’s way out of my life so I can be painting and blogging more often again. I know how that goes, too.

  16. Hello! I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award, for the rules etc. Click the link: http://gretchendelrio.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/appreciation/

  17. Congratulations on the award, Leslie. I enjoyed the sharing and the sketch and I will have to check out the suggested blogs.

    Happy day …

    • P.S. ~ Love the pups! 😉

      I visited the blogs. Enjoyed much and quite enough to subscript to three of them. Thank you, Leslie! 😉

      • Thank you, Jamie. Wow. You found three to conscript to? That’s great. ..and thank you for taking the time to visit them and check them out.

      • I appreciate the recommendation. I feel very much that I need more art (vs. poetry) for the love of it and the stimulation.

        Thanks! 😉


Leave a Reply

