Skip navigation

Another class has ended. We had a great time exploring watercolor and Rice Paper Collage.

Nancy Longmate 3

We began with abstract and getting a feel for the different rice papers and how they accepted the pigment.

Dianna Burt

Next we created something from our minds in rice paper and watercolor.

Andrea Andis

Then we worked from a photo of a building and created a landscape out of our mind around it.

Sue Mendenhall

Then we worked from a photograph.

John Kelty 3

The last exercise was to take an old painting and turn it into something new.

A heartfelt thank you to all the participants in this class. You amaze me. To view other examples of the student work in rice paper and watercolor collage click here.

 

24 Comments

  1. These are just exquisite! I wish I could take one of your classes, Leslie. They look like so much fun.

    • Thank you Sherry! I often wish our group of artist bloggers could gather and paint together. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow! This is magnificent work. Very diverse, very creative. I like your approach and the processes you share. You build a strong foundation for them.

    • Thank you, Linda. These artists are such a good group. They greet each and every challenge with a positive attitude and embrace something new.

  3. Wow Sir! I really love those artworks! I wish I could learn from you πŸ™‚ you should make an art class website πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely join πŸ™‚

  4. All of the paintings are very pretty! I’ve never tried painting on rice paper, but looking at these I think I should have a go!

    • Hi Decoratuk,
      I enjoy painting on crinkled masa paper, also. This idea of tearing the papers and collaging them in is also fun and leaves me with many opportunities to change a painting midway through. Yes. Give it a go! Thank you for the visit and the comment!

  5. You really attracted some talent, Leslie. Some of these paintings really are stunning. I was awed by a pair of cows that look as though they would be mooing any moment. The shadowing is brilliant. (Is that an oxymoron?)

    • The cows added a nice touch. I agree! The shadowing popped them forwards. What I really enjoy with this group is the fact they are so positive and especially energetic about trying new things to see where it takes them. They seem to understand they are collecting ways to express themselves through their mediums of choice and that makes all the difference. Thank you, Amy!

  6. It’s such wonderful work. What I love so much of seeing your students work, is its diversity and creativity. Thank you for sharing Leslie. πŸ™‚

    • I am so lucky to share time in the same classroom with these artists. They learn from one another and retain their own voice. It is an incredible thing to watch as each and every painting is created. Thank you, Hannekekoop!

  7. Such a variety of creativity in your class, certainly a boon to teach them. I loved the last one a lot more..congrats to John Kelty!

    • They each retin their own style, don’t they, Padmaja! I really like that last one of John’s, also. Thankyou. πŸ™‚

  8. Beautiful creativity, all unique, all gorgeous! It’s really fun to see the different style. πŸ™‚

    • I think that is what is most noticeable with this group; all the different styles. Thank you, Anne! πŸ™‚

  9. As always, your students’ artwork never ceases to amaze me. They are so talented. It’s always fun to see all the different personalities that come across in the art. Well Done teacher!

    • Thank you, Carol! I agree with you about all those different personalities.

  10. It’s an enjoyable experience looking at all these earnest art works. I like how the rice paper collage reminds you of the physical nature of paper.

    • I never thought of it that way, Al, but you are right about the physical nature of paper reading through all these works. Thank you!

  11. It is so wonderful to see all the possibilities of using rice paper. I am getting hooked. Thanks Leslie!

    • That sounds great. It is fun. Takes more time, though. Thank you for the visit, Raji!

  12. Wonderful lively vibrancy in these ‘student’ works! So lush and appealing they all are. Wow, you are one great teacher, Leslie!!!

    • Thank you Eva! My goodness, I can’t take credit for what they do. I sometimes feel they are teaching me. It is a wonderful creative environment for teacher and student alike. Every challenge set for this group has been met with an element of the positive and they just latch onto everything. I am the luckiest teacher in the world!


Leave a Reply

