Skip navigation

Above painting by Tammy Mansfield

The above painting was painted by a student in my Creative Challenge class. This class covers general composition as well as a summary of how to approach composition in regards to portraits, landscapes and still life subjects.  We discuss shape, line, value, texture, color, space and how to find and develop a center of interest.  We devote one night to the topic of how to attract the viewer’s attention.

If you would like to view all the students’ work from this class, you can find it by visiting the Student Art 2 page or by clicking here.

Thank you to all my students for a great class and fo being willing to share your art here.  🙂

23 Comments

  1. This actually reminds me of some of the children’s books illustrations I’ve seen. Not as polished, of course, but the vision is there. Love that fly-away hair and mischievous tongue.

    • 🙂 I laughed so hard when I saw this portrait. She captured the moment with her Granddaughter, methinks. Thank you, Yousei.

  2. The eyes/facial expression of this little girl are fantastic. But I must say I enjoyed the whole gallery. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you, Hannekekoop. She did capture the energy and spunk of her Granddaughter.

  3. EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PAINTING ATTRACTS.

    • Thank you. Thank you, Gretchen. Tammy will be so pleased to see these comments!

  4. The mood caught makes it special, liked it a lot Leslie!

  5. Such character is captured in this painting. One simply knows the day will pass with great exuberance with this little soul.

    Looking at the gallery, I wonder if what I saw was the intended draw to the painting.

    Hope you are doing well, Leslie.

    • Tammy created this portrait for the week that I taught portrait composition. She wants to paint another of her other Granddaughter.
      Thank you, Amy, for wishing me well.

  6. Nice paintings. Very expressive eyes, indeed.

    Your students are very fortunate, those classes look very interesting.

  7. Awww this is so cute! I love this painting.
    Anyway I hope you’re doing well, Leslie.
    I have an award for you. Here’s the link:
    http://wp.me/p1PkGU-6M

  8. I enjoyed all of the artwork by your students. As always, a talented group, no doubt in part because of their talented teacher. I love all the different styles of work.

    • I think that is actually what I learn the most from; their different styles. It is a constant reminder for me to be flexible with my approach to introducing anything new. This group takes the assignment and literally flies with it, introducing new things as we go. Thank you, Carol.

  9. I love the way the baby is coming outwards. This is a lovely work of art 🙂 Your students always do great art work but then again they have a great teacher 🙂

    • I think this was from a day at a carnival or fair and she was on one of the rides, Alonso. 🙂 Thank you!!!!

  10. What personality! between the tongue and the eyes, a lot of personality. Hats off to the student! Thanks Leslie

    • My student thanks you, Ryan. I agree about the tongue and the eyes and she placed them well in her composition, I think, to draw the viewer’s attention.

  11. Such a sweet painting, simply beautiful. Love it 🙂

    Take care
    Marinela x


Leave a Reply

