Skip navigation

Merry Christmas Everyone!

62 Comments

  1. I’ve walked through several places that look just like this leaving my footprints behind in the snow. Love the reflection of the sun in the snow. Also I sent you a email for your enjoyment… Look close!

    • Thank you for that comment, Ryan, as I know you are “Indiana” also. Darn…. I forgot the footprints! πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas!

  2. Thank you Leslie. A merry Christmas to you and your family too.
    I love this painting. It’s a real dream landscape. Warm and cold at the same time. Filled with light.

    • I was hoping to add a little special glow to an Indiana landscape near where I live. Thank you, Hannekekoop, and Merry Christmas!

  3. This is just beautiful Leslie. I love winter scenes and you did an amazing job with this one. I especially love the yellows. Merry Christmas!

    • I’ll bet you look out on a snowy landscape from your new country home, Laurie. This is the first Christmas there, right? Thank you for this comment and Merry Christmas to you!

  4. Beautiful! Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    • …and to you and yours, Louise! Loved your masa Christmas painting! πŸ™‚

  5. this is beautiful. May you and your family have a Merry Christmas and let’s hope 2012 turns out to be a great year.

    BTW, you didn’t write anything about your post. I really like how you kept the whites on the trees. Frisket? Gouache? C’mon, spill the beans!

    • Thank you, Carol, and Merry Christmas to you, “The Husband” and Kaiya, Too!

  6. Oh, and I forgot to say, I like the black and white (sorta, cause I see some dark green) in your sentinels along with the washy redness of the bush or other trees in the background on the left.

    • Okay. Okay. I just thought I’d give you all a break from the explanations. It was kind of fun. I splattered the whole piece of Arches 140lb rough with frisket, using a size six round brush so the splatter would be small. I then did all the washes top to bottom, tippin my board this way and that so the washes would run together. I dried that with a hairdryer. Then I splattered the tree area with frisket again and a LOT! I used earthen green to dab in the form of the trees and mixed it with burnt sienna in some of the areas of the trunks. I then went back in with a mixture of burnt sienna, prussian blue and some sepia to form more of the bulk of the trees. That is the black you are referring to. It does look blackish. The last thing I did was the warm wet in wet wash of burnt sienna and watered down prussian blue you see in the background. I then removed all the frisket and defined some of the areas in the trees with that blackish mixture and called it a day.
      Thank you for asking, Carol. πŸ™‚ I love to share how I do these paintings.

  7. Wonderful painting, Leslie. It is so unusual and very striking.

  8. Just like looking in my backyard…Lovely work!
    Merry Christmas, Leslie!

    • Ha! Yes, I remember you have beautiful landscapes around your home, Debbie. Thank you. Merry Christmas to you, the husband and Cici!

  9. Wow, I cant take my eyes off it! The work says it all, no words required! Happy Christmas to you dear Leslie!

    • Thank you, so much Padmaja. Merry Christmas to you and family!

  10. Leslie, this is absolutely beautiful. I feel like I’ve been to this place many times.

    • Thank you, Jay. I imagine you have, seeing as you live in Indiana. Merry Christmas to you!

  11. A stunning black and white Merry Christmas to you, too, Leslie. May your celebrations be full of Love! Look forward to lots more contact in 2012, Leslie.

  12. This is such a beautiful painting. The colours you have used are lovely and I love the way you have done the snow. Beautiful and very festive for this glorious time of year. Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

  13. Beautiful… I so appreciate the gift of your presence in the world of blogging/art/life musings. Thank you for continuing to grace me with your insights and art.

  14. A lovely winter scene, Leslie. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  15. This is beautiful! I love your trees! I wish I could paint them. I also enjoyed reading how you did it (for Carol). Have a very Merry Christmas!

    • Hi Beth! Happy Holidays to you. You paint trees just fine. Thank you!

  16. Have a very Merry Christmas Leslie
    and don’t forget to be wicked and naughty πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    Androgoth XXx

    • You have me chuckling, Andro. πŸ™‚ You have a very happy Holiday season! Thank you!

  17. Leslie,
    I gasped when I opened up the email with this post. Oh what a beautiful painting. It’s so peaceful, but visually exciting too with the tree patterns, the bold yellow behind the trees, and that wonderful punch of color to the left. Wow!!!!! I love it. Thank you for your Christmas wishes. May you and your family enjoy a most Happy Christmas and a Joyful New Year!

    • I have to tell you, Nanina. This is one that I didn’t quite know what I was doing. So, your comment helps boost my confidence on trying something like this again. Happy New Year just around the corner! πŸ™‚ Thank you.

  18. Happy Christmas Lesilie !

    Marinela

    • Hi Marinela. Happy Christmas to you, dear poet, and Happy New Year, now, too!

  19. A wonderful Christmas to you, Leslie!

  20. Merry Christmas to you too, my friend! Love the new painting!

  21. Merry Christmas, dear Leslie! Have a wonderful time with your love ones!

  22. Beautiful as always and a very Merry Christmas to you!

  23. This has worked very well, Leslie. I love the impression of snow on the leaves of the trees, particularly.
    I hope you have a very happy Christmas and new year. Hugs.

  24. Very nice and appropriate image! Have a wonderful holiday season Leslie.

  25. a lovely and warm painting…well maybe it looks a bit chilly in Indiana LOL

    Hope you have enjoyed a splendid Christmas with the one’s you love.
    And may the New Year be filled with Peace, Love and Happiness.

    Smiles,
    Raven xox

    • Thank you, Raven. Chilly, yes, but it is home. Happy New Year to you!

  26. Holiday cheers to you, Leslie! May you be blessed with peace, joy and prosperity in the coming New Year.

    Hugs,
    Gayle

    • I’ll take that wish for joy and prosperity, Gayle. Happy New Year to you! Thank you!

  27. This is so beautiful. I love the reflected light on the snow.
    And I love that the teacher in you would not allow you to simply post a painting.
    you just had to explain – that is so cute.

    Have a wonderful new year.

    All that snow looks cold

    • Ha! Carol talked me into it, you know! Thank heavens for friends in blogland. πŸ™‚ I am trying to incorporate some of what I have learned, in technique, to use with those things I see. I find it rather freeing that I can take a reference and go somewhere with it. This has taken years of practice as you know, already. It is not so much what we learn, I think, but how we use it? Happy New Year to you, Stephen. Thank you!

    • stefania de pascali
    • Posted December 29, 2011 at 9:23 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    hi leslie,
    I wish you an happy new year!!!

  28. I adore the brushmarks of the trees in this one Leslie and the colours in the snow are so subtle but effective! Happy New Year to you and yours!

  29. …and a much belated ‘Merry Christmas’ to you and yours Leslie.

    • I’ll take a Merry Christmas, anytime, Keith! Merry Christmas to you, too!

  30. There’s something Carl Larsson about this and that’s a huge compliment. A belated Merry and Happy New Year to you, Leslie.

    • Thank you, so much, Lynn. My sister introduced me to Carl Larsson so I am familiar with his work and the compliment is huge! Happy New Year to you, too!


Leave a Reply

