Skip navigation

Carol commented on the previous post that she liked both the black and white and the colored version of that featured goauche resist. I responded that I would be posting this one without the watercolor added. I like the resist, in and of itself, and can not convince myself to paint it.

This is a a portrait of my daughter’s weimaraner. I have painted him previously here and here.  His expression captivates me, so I just may paint him again sometime in the future.

A tutorial on how to do a goauche resist can be found here.

46 Comments

  1. Great expression, indeed! You really know how to put life into a painting, Leslie! 🙂

  2. This is very dynamic!! What a portrait of a great dog!

    • Thank you, Kate. I just couldn’t botch what came through on the resist with color.

  3. What a grand way to capture this expression of trust and intelligence. As I’ve said before, you do wonders with animals’ eyes.

    • What a wonderful comment, Amy. The eye thing, I mean. I used to work so hard on painting the eyes, a very common thing to do when one starts portraiture in any medium. I didn’t do so well. I went up to my instructor, at the time, and asked her how I could improve. She set my portrait down and placed the reference next to it and smiled. She said, “I think if you draw and paint what you truly “see” of that eye, you will have it.” I looked at my painting and realized I had embellished the eyes with what I thought they “should” (I remember your should story: http://souldipper.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/shoulds-be-banned/ ) look like instead of the “simple” shapes that actually existed. From that time on? I have painted the eyes from what I can see and not what I think they “should” be. It has served me well.
      Thank you, Amy! 🙂

  4. I like this alot. The resist, sans watercolor, looks fantastic here. It really creates a dramatic image, and the eye contact pulls me in!

    • Abner seems to hold one in his gaze. That’s for sure! Thank you, Amber!

    • Sandrine Pelissier
    • Posted November 30, 2011 at 1:24 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Leslie, I agree with you, don’t paint it, it is gorgeous as it is!

    • I had several students who came to class, last night, without painting theirs. They liked the black and white, also. Thank you, Sandrine! I value your opinion.

  5. I think it’s beautiful, very lively. And this painting gives me the feeling I would certainly like this dog. This technique makes me think of lithographs.

    • I agree, hannekekoop. This technique does look like a lithograph, also. Abner is a handful and very much in his own element! …a character. 🙂

  6. Les,
    This is beautiful. It reminds me of a silkscreen or linoleum cut. Watercolor is an amazing medium for expansive possibilities!

    • I think that is why I like this techniqueso much! It takes on another look and I never know what I’m going to get! Thank you, Nancy! 🙂

  7. Wow! You outdid yourself with the gouache resist technique this time. And i agree it should stay like this, without color. It gives Abner a strength that color would soften.

    It reminds me a bit of a linoleum or wood cut. Well done dear internet blog teacher.

    • Thank you, Carol. Actually, your comment on the previous post helped me to give myself permission to not paint this, so I thank you for that, big-time. I totally agree about these looking like a lino or wood cut.

  8. Very cool and creative! I also thought it looked like a linoleum cut. And I love Weims – they are great dogs!

    • I love it that you said “Weims” because that shortened breed name fits Abner, Laurie. Thank you! 🙂

  9. How could you not love that face! This is wonderful, Leslie!

  10. Every application of the gouache is so precise , it leaves me gaping at it with amazement Leslie, the expression is adorable and the result fabulous!

    • You noticed! I experimented with applying the goauche, this time. The background has varying thicknesses of the goauche painted. I wanted to see if, with a thin application, the ink would bleed through some. It does. Thus, there are ways to achieve various effects with this method. Thank you, Padmaja!

  11. I love all the paintings you have done of Abner. This technique works well for a Weimaraner to depict the various grey tones and softness of the coat. He looks very wise in this one. Maybe he knows if he poses just so he will earn a treat! 🙂

    • Abner is truly his own being, full of expression and getting his way. Not a “bad” dog, but definitely a dog on a mission! I am sure he is posing for a treat. 🙂 That’s probably what gives him that wise look. Thank you, Nanina! 🙂

  12. Hi Leslie. I enjoy your blog so much that I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. You can learn more about it here: http://lauriebartolo.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/oh-my-dog/

  13. I found your blog through the link on Laurie’s site. I started watercolor painting a little over a year ago. Looks like I can learn lots from you. Definitely following.

  14. I think it’s amazing and very lively painting Leslie! Love it 🙂

  15. This is wonderful and it imo it doesn’t need any color. Abner is adorable just as he is!

    • Thank you, Kathleen! I value your support of my decision to leave this, as is. 🙂

  16. I love him Leslie. Please remind me how you did your snow 🙂

    • Hi Keith!
      Just go to your dashboard page and scroll down to settings and click on it. Then click on General. On the general page, at the bottom, is a box to check for falling snow. Check that box and then click on UPDATE. Voila! Falling snow!!!! 🙂
      Thank you for the comment on Abner!

  17. Love the b&w image! Good for you to skip the color. It is very striking in its sharp and dramatic contrast like this.

  18. you’ve certainly captured the captivating expression here…b&w contrast makes for a classic drama…perfect with his face.

  19. If I had not seen the title my first thought would be that this was an ink drawing….I knew better. Love the work, Leslie!

  20. Those eyes bring it to life–those soulful eyes! Out of the three that you have done…I believe I like the black and white one the most. It really shows up his features and the folds of his skin. Wonderful, as always, Leslie.

    • Abner gets attention through those eyes, for sure! I just could not force myself to paint this image. It seemed finished, just as you say, Gayle. Thank you!

  21. Leslie,
    Oh I’m glad you’re not adding color to this painting! It feels quite complete just as it is. I really love the contrast as it adds much depth and texture to the painting. In particular I like the eyes and the nose. You’ve really captured that glossy wet look / feel of the nose.

    Wonderful as always!

    Peace,

    Stephen

    • Thank you for that comment on his nose, Stephen. How very observant! With these, it is difficult to know what I will get. No color, for sure, on this one. 🙂


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] is Abner. I have painted him here and here.  This time proved to be the most […]

  2. […] it is lengthy. I like the rustic block print-like look to them. Some of them, I have liked in the black and white stage and choose to not color them in with […]

Leave a Reply

