Skip navigation

painting by Henn Laidroo

The above painting was a result of one of my student’s experiments on masa paper. He felt the toning of it was too dark to develop a landscape on. He saw faces in the shapes he found in the patterns. I think it looks like our class!  🙂

A heartfelt thank you to all my students who took the watercolor landscape class this fall. Thank you to Henn Laidroo for allowing me to share the above painting. It makes me smile. The new Student Art page can be viewed here.

32 Comments

  1. Not only are there human faces but animals too. So cool and really cute! And the more you look the more you see…

    • That’s what I saw, Gayle. Multitudes of faces and new colors and it just made me feel good! Thank you! 🙂

  2. The expression in the eyes match the mouths so well. Wondering if that uni-eyed character is Cyclops or a very wise Guru showing the Third Eye. Thanks to Henn! I enjoy being able to wander around in a painting, discovering and participating.

    • Knowing Henn, Amy, that is a “very wise Guru showing the Third Eye”. 🙂 …and it is probably Henn. Henn rarely explores bright color, like this, and has a very distinct style of painting. Every once in awhile, he jumps away from that and really lets go and then chuckles about it. He will appreciate your comment as I do. Thank you.

  3. Henn has done a wonderful job and it certainly looks like your classroom! The teacher I think has taken a prominent central space 🙂

    • Padmaja, I’m still chuckling. 🙂 It would be a miracle for me to look that good! Thank you!

  4. Leslie, this painting should be entered in the competition for Embracing Our Differences, found here: http://www.embracingourdifferences.org/ I have entered the last 3 years. I will be entering again this year. I have never won, but there’s a first time for everything. 🙂 Dang…. I just invited more competition. What am I thinking? Well… I would love to see it win. There’s room for both of us. he he

    • Hi Beth,
      Henn will be delighted with your comment. 🙂 This is not my painting to enter. I agree with you, though. It would be great in a show titled Embracing our Differences”. Thank you!

  5. Love all the expression in this painting, and the way they are all grouped together so close. This is excellent work. Henn created a masterpiece!
    Deb xx

    • Doesn’t it just make you feel good, Debbie? I loved all the color he used, this piece, and the King in the right hand corner is awesome to top it off. Just plain fun and totally creative! Henn will appreciate your comment, as I do!

  6. how creative! I love all the faces, though some of them look a little spooky to me. Like Halloween.

    • This could double for Halloween, too, I think. After all, there is the masked, bandit looking, one in there! Ha! I couldn’t agree with you more on “creative”! Thank you!

  7. Neat! Perfect for Halloween too!

  8. A myriad of faces to view Leslie. and I kept trying to count them, THEN I was so sure I saw a foot, but focused again and then it seemed to be a mermaid wearing a pink wide brimmed hat… Not sure what that says about me… deep, deep down… 😀 … but I loved the searching … and as Alex says … just perfect for All Hallows Eve, it’s the eyes more than anything… staring back at you, … eye to eye!!! xPenx

    • I almost stopped to count them, too, Pen. I love the eye to eye contact this piece and the idea that we are all in this together. Thank you, Pen!

  9. I really like this one, you have taught them well Leslie and
    the imagination that went into this fine piece is rather exciting,
    well I certainly like it a lot anyway 🙂 Have a very nice start to
    your weekend and congratulations my great friend, you are
    indeed a worthy teacher of art 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    • Thank you, Andro. I am totally amazed by the creativity that comes from this group. Henn did not let the funky toning of this surface defeat him.
      You have a great weekend also, Andro. 🙂

  10. Amazing colors, they really learn well from the master.

    • I don’t think I qualify as a master but I sure do enjoy sharing with this group. Thank you, Francis. 🙂

  11. You have a mouse and an owl in your class !!… lol… It sure does work very well with the faces…

    • I am sure a couple of us pass as owls or mice, Brian. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and taking time to comment!

  12. Leslie, I love all the expressions and characters Henn picked out in this. It’s buzzing with personality. Also the student class work was a joy to look at. Since I’m a student too, I appreciated all the hard work and creative energy that went into painting these pieces. Each one has a unique style and way just as all the people in Henn’s painting.
    Thanks!
    Nanina

    • What a wonderful comment, Nanina. Thank you. Henn went the extra mile with this painting and it was a special surprise because he so enjoys landscape and paints with a very identifiable style. With this, he let go and just let whatever came to him fall on the page. I love that about this painting. Thank you, also, for pointing out each person’s different “way” of painting on the student art page. I see it too! 🙂

  13. I love a piece like this. Each time you look at it, something new is revealed.

    • Thank you, Kim! I agree with you. It is like the painting keeps on giving. 🙂

  14. Thanks for bringing us Henn Laidroo’s colorful populace.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  15. Cool! I really like the result, it proves that imagination can transform ordinary into extraordinary. 😉

    • You said that right, Anne! Thank you! Henn really went “all out” with this one. 🙂

  16. This is such a great painting by your student! I can’t stop staring at it!

    • Thank you, Amber. That was the way I felt about it. I keep coming back to it and staring at it.


Leave a Reply

