Skip navigation

The above painting was inspired by the second drawing in the previous post on automatic drawing.  I allowed the paint to guide me through this creation. The first drip of burnt sienna from the figure’s left hand reminded me of a quote I had clipped from a National Geographic, years ago, and placed on my refrigerator. It read:

“What I wanted was…

         a place where dreams

did not stop at dawn.”

In this painting, I clipped pieces of masa paper for the darks in the landscape and collaged them into the piece. The wings on the figure are also clipped pieces of masa.  I left portions unfinished to give this the feel of a work in progress. I also did not want to furthur define the figure. I did this, partially out of respect for other viewers to assume what they wanted  about that figure. Was this figure a part of the landscape? Was she or he the artist?  Did the artist intend for her/him to be anyone? Was it an angel or a fairy?  So many interpretations and I wanted them all to flow. I hope I have captured that, this painting.

 

69 Comments

  1. This is great Leslie. I stepped away from the computer and looked at it from a distance. Then I saw so much more. But is it what I see or what you have painted?

    • Wow. What an interesting comment, Hannekekoop! I “see” what you mean and that was my point, exactly, but you word it so much better than I did. Clapping! 🙂

  2. It’s lovely, Leslie. I like the thought and the colors. The style is a bit different than your usual, and I like it.

    • I think the style might be called “rushed”? It also is about allowing the painting to speak to me as I create it. Thank you, Debbie! 🙂

  3. this is exquisite Leslie.

  4. The beauty of this painting is that it leaves me to interpret it in my own way and so I am recreating it in my mind! I loved your new style of creation with this one Leslie!

    • Hi Padmaja,

      I’m smiling. I usually paint too much in a painting. I wanted to do more, here, but liked the idea of leaving it open. Thank you for recreating, Padmaja. That means I may have developed it far enough.

  5. Wow Leslie, I am so impressed on how you took your drawing and translated it into this magical painting.

    • I thank you for this encouragement. I think the most difficult way to create is without a reference other than what I have in my mind’s eye. Perhaps if I spend some time with this, I could get better? Thanks, Carol!

  6. Intriguing. I have the feeling that ‘she’ is melting?

    • I like that about the melting, Gretchen.I sometimes feel like that while painting, especially this summer in the heat. 🙂 Thank you!

  7. Oh Leslie, this is sooo beautiful! Lots of gentleness… I love the curves and the colors ! What a new direction !

    • Hi Isabelle,
      Can you tell I’m searching for the abstract, something I know you have no problem venturing into? Thank you for this comment. Gentle is great.

  8. Love what you’ve done here Leslie… The paint running down the image adds a real unique touch to the painting..

  9. Leslie – It’s lovely! Your painting made me think of the words music or musical…there’s a rhythmic flow that suggested those terms to me. Were you listening to music outwardly or inwardly while painting? 🙂 I also love that you developed one of the automatic drawings into a painting…a whole new world opens up.

    Nanina

    • Yes. I was playing music, Nanina. I was playing adagios by Vivaldi. Thank you for this comment, because I had not noticed how much the music may have influenced my work on this one. Very perceptive!

  10. I love to work like this when I can! My interest in automatic drawing stems from surrealism, Max Ernst (and Leonardo earlier) began to ‘frottage’
    http://www.tate.org.uk/collections/glossary/definition.jsp?entryId=113

    and discovered whole little worlds within these impressions. Well done Leslie for progressing your drawing into a painting! As your original concept was a sub conscious response – I think that quantifies the painting as Surrealism 🙂

    • Wow. Thankyou for the link, Lynda! You are so knowledgeable and your input helps me immensely. I really liked those Ernst paintings in the link where he took the painted canvas and rubbed the surface over fishbones and rocks and things. I, like you, think there are worlds within worlds and we often overlook what we really see. Thank you! 🙂

  11. Oh! I like the idea of adding bits of masa paper instead of actually doing the piece on it. I love the drips, you know I am all about the splatter, drips, and bleeds of paint. It’s nice, calming but intriguing at the same time.

    • You are so good with the shaping things together, Roni. I am so sad at it but have been inspired by viewing yours and other artists’ works that have a bit of this exploration and abandon to them. Thank you so much for your supportive comments on this piece. In a way, it has left me feeling as though it is so infinished and it is hard to not go back into it. Because of that, I think I said what I wanted to….that I’m painting a dream and still…..I paint. I think, in that, is the intrigue for me. It pulls and begs to be finished.

  12. Wow! an angel who helps us to realize our sweet dreams! it is very nice!

  13. That created is not as concrete as some might think,
    For it is in an ever changing state of becoming perfect intent.
    And the definition of that perfection is sorely dependent on the relationship
    shared by the Creator and the Created when the Creator is that He, She or It,
    Chooses to be.

    • Sam. That is beautiful. Thank you for writing this piece as your comment. I have copied it down and am keeping it as a reminder, especially when I work like this. Wow. How spiritual the relationship between the Creator and the Created in all things. Thank you, Sam.

  14. You have indeed captured a cornucopia of fantasy in your Painting, Leslie. and it’s open to all sorts of interpretation, depending on how you view it…. I see a melting of ideas, a flowing of colours melding together, could be the ice caps melting with the onset of global warming, then again could be an Angel letting loose more magical /mystical shades of colour into the World. Seasonal changes, maybe…bringing about a changing and diverse landscape. So much to see, and so many ideas flowing… my thanks for sharing your Painting Dream… xPenx

    • Oh, jumping for joy!!!!! Your comment imbeds itself in me, Pen. I was trying for that “could be anything”. I mentioned in a previous comment how difficult it is for me to leave something appearing so unfinished, posted. However, this does seem to allow for viewers to search for their own story in it. This is so new to me. Thank you so much for your comment.

  15. ♫ *´”)
    , ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨) ♫ ♪
    (¸.•´ (¸.• ♫ ♪ I really like this one Leslie, but then again I like everything
    that you have added here on your Space 🙂 I hope that your weekend is
    a most wonderful one so far my great friend 🙂 Be good now…

    ♫ *´”)
    , ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨) ♫ ♪
    (¸.•´ (¸.• ♫ ♪ Androgoth XXx

    • Andro. I like your swirly notes and sparkles in your comment with this post in particular. You are so generous in your comments and I thank you for that! 🙂

        • Androgoth
        • Posted October 1, 2011 at 6:03 pm
        • Permalink

        I just say how it is to me my great friend and you are
        an excellent artist, anyone that calls into your Space can
        instantly see your wonderful talents 🙂

        I hope your weekend is a very nice one so far Leslie 🙂

        Androgoth XXx

      • Thanks, Andro!

  16. Smooth, swooping lines give the impression this simply fell out of you. I really appreciate your diversity.

    • Thank you, Amy. I like that “fell out of me”. Yes it did. 🙂

  17. Very thought provoking. Lovely palette and wonderful techn ique. The more I look the more it makes me wonder…

    • Thank you, Linda. Your comment helps me to leave this painting alone as some of the other comments have alluded to the same thing. I think this is the most unfinished finished piece I have ever painted.

  18. It’s lovely. I like the colors and the creativity in it. Looks like an angel coming down to earth where it’s dawn. Love it.

    • The thought of an angel imbedded my interpretation, also, Francis. I truly just wanted to give her wings. Thank you!

  19. lovely flowing feltness here…

  20. Simply beautiful.LOVE IT!!
    Thanks for sharing with us!

    Warmly
    Marinela

  21. I’m torn between the image of an earthly bound angel, or an angel in an earthly heaven. The unfinished portion gives
    a feel of clouds and being aloft. Hmmm either way it’s beautiful in soulful feel.

    • I like your dual interpretation, Ryan. How very perceptive that both realms could be tied together so closely when we are always referring to heaven as something distant. I like that thought!!!! Thank you!

  22. WOW!! This is really, really wonderful! I literally gasped when it opened. Before I even read what you wrote, I was impressed at the places you left unpainted. It would be so hard to know that you need to stop and let the viewer finish the painting in their mind… or not. I am so impressed with this! Bravo, my friend!!!! 🙂

    • You nailed it, Beth. It is extremely hard leaving this painting alone, as though it is screaming to be finished. In my mind I answer that it is finished in every painting painted and every painting yet to come. I hope I can leave it alone. This has taught me a thing or two. Thank you! 🙂

  23. Your automatic drawings are mesmerizing. They appear so fluid and different from your usual work. I especially like this one. The drips are wonderful and I love that it is left somewhat unfinished. It defintely leaves me feeling that there could be more to come.

    • I hope there is more to come in creating this way from time to time, Kathleen. Thank you for the visit and the comment!

  24. what a beautiful quote and how wonderfully you’ve interpreted it. i love this painting and how you’ve left it white at the base of the figure makes me feel that she and the land are almost rising mystically out of the clouds. lovely.

    • Thank you, Nicola. Thank you for commenting on the quote. I have liked that one since the first time I read it. Some things just stick with you. Thank you for backing up my decision to leave part of this white. That was difficult for me to do.

  25. Such a magical and imaginative painting. I like it alot!

  26. Very dreamy image indeed! Somehow, to me, the figure seems to be “crying” those colors–or perhaps taking the sorrow from others and allowing them to pass through her and on and out… Wow–that’s pretty cool!

    • I like your interpretation of the figure crying in this. It offers yet another interpretation or dimension to the viewing of it. Gayle. Taking sorrow and allowing it to pass through and out … how beautifully you penned that. Thank you!

  27. Lovely painting Leslie. Very interesting interpretation of the quote. Although, I almost thought it wasn’t your painting because it seems very different than your signature style. 🙂

    • Hi Emily! I agree with you that it doesn’t even look like one of my paintings. I am trying to explore the possibilities, from time to time, of painting without reference material. Thank you for your visit and your comment! 🙂

  28. Leslie, HI!
    This is like you painted Mother Earth Dancing! I love it!
    Sorry to be mia for so long.
    Hope all is well at your end of the paint box. Peace

    • Hi Eva,
      Hey, you are allowed mia. I, myself, am facing a huge change to my schedule for a couple months and have not been able to keep up with everyone. I hope all will understand. I will be back full force as soon as all calms down around here. Thank you for visiting. and I like the “Mother Earth Dancing” idea as that thought crossed my mind several times while creating this piece. You are so good at interpreting my work! Thank you!

  29. I love the fairy-tale quality of this, and the textures of it in close up (all your art must be seen in close up). 🙂

    • Val, thank you. I often enlarge the art I see posted online. I can see the srtists’ hands in it that way. I agree with you on fairy-tale. Speaking of working without reference material, you do this all the time. Just my little dabbles this direction has shown me how very talented you are in your digital paintings. Don’t ever stop. They are beautiful!

  30. Hi Leslie,
    I absolutely love the style that you have developed! The collage, I feel, adds a cool dimension and a whimsical emotion to the painting. The colors seem to show transition from a dream to reality. I love the drips as well. Are they drips of dreams that are falling through one’s hands?, or are they drips of goodness flowing through the body and outward to others? Something to think about 🙂 Love it!!

    • I think the drips can be anything the viewer wants them to be. I included them because one happened and I liked it, but it begged for more. My thoughts, as I created it, was that it sort of supported the idea that I was not finished with painting my dreams. I love your idea that they “drip goodness” Thank you for that! How awesome! 🙂

  31. I really, really like this one, Leslie. One of my favorite aspects are the paperish looking wings.

  32. I really like your painting and drawing. I just started to paint and you inspired me to try one that you called automatic drawing. 😉 Thanks for sharing Leslie.

    • Wow! Thank you, Muraied. I think one of the most special things we have going for us is that we have the ability to share with others. You honor me by trying something I have shared. You do know, I received this idea from another who got it from another. What a cool thing that is!

      • yeah. we are linking each others works without we know it. We’re like some long lost big family worldwide. lol. Well, I’ll be honor to take your artwork as my new idea of painting.

  33. This is an amazing piece; I love the flow of it and the effect the ‘unfinished’ parts of it have… it speaks ‘dreams’ to me

    • The funny thing about the unfinished parts are that they speak to me about being unfinished everytime I look at it. It is almost as if I have created a reminder to myself. 🙂 Thank you for seeing that, Littleskew.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Leslie wrote “I had clipped from a National Geographic, years ago, and placed on my refrigerator. It read:” […]

Leave a Reply

