Skip navigation

Meet my Creative Drawing Class Spring 2011:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The last night of Class is a bit hectic as evaluations need to be filled out,  last assignments shared, and pictures of work taken. I usually try to come up with something new or simple that is art related. This year my Creative Drawing class sat in a circle and we drew each other. On a time limit and with a lot of chuckles, we came up with the above.

The Creative Drawing class was asked to to create art by following a challenge I assigned .

Week one they were to draw a skyline of a city across their page. From that line, using any media they chose, they were to create a city. They were allowed to use photos as reference for shadows and suggestions but were not to render their finished piece from any one photo.

Week two they had to grid a reference photo, distort that grid and re-draw the forms to their distorted grid.

Week three they were asked to cut up their reference photo into pieces and reassemble them so that their values and composition were interesting.  They used that new composition for their finished piece.

Week  four they drew multiple drawings  of old saxaphones and a flute I set out on table tops. They were to use these drawings as their reference material for a finished piece.

The fifth week, they were to draw with paper.  Yes, collage a drawing.

I would also like to thank my Exploring Watercolor class for their hard work. Many of the students in this class have never watercolored before. Their first week was exploring wet in wet, wet on dry and dry brushing applications of watercolor, how to set up their palette and what each of their brushes were capable of. Their second week was an exposure to basic color schemes. The third week introduced liquid frisket and  splattering. The third week they learned different ways to paint trees as well as how to do a large granulating wash for sky and water. The fourth week was devoted to how to lose and soften an edge in a form as well as suggestions and a demo in painting clouds.  The fifth week was answering specific questions regarding what they had learned.  They, too, worked hard as they were to paint a painting using what they had learned each week.

I have posted their work on the Student Art 2 page here . 

 Thank you to all my students!

32 Comments

  1. =D> Thank you dear Teacher. I wish I could be your student too.

    • You are so kind. From the looks of your work, you have an excellent teacher! Thank you, Zeinab. 🙂

  2. So fascinating to see different aspects of varied personalities here.. you are a great teacher Leslie, you are mine as well!

    • That is what speaks the loudest to me, the different personalities all forming the reality that everyone is an artist. I don’t know who learns more, them or me. ..and you are my teacher, Padmaja, thank you.

  3. Thank you for sharing all this with us, Leslie. And just like padmaja, “you are a great teacher and mine as well.” You, my friend, and your blog has proven to be nothing less than a blessing for me. Thank you, Leslie!

    • You have taught me about shape and value many times over dear “other artist”. I think it is fair to say we are teaching each other here. YAY! Thank you, Debbie. 🙂

  4. Seems like you’ve had a very successful class or two of students, who’ve produced some amazing pieces under your expert guidance…

    • I don’t know about expert but these students are surely amazing. They work very hard to grasp the techniques and explore possibilities in their work. I am forever being shown new possibilities in their work. Thank you for this comment, Brian.

  5. This is a great post! I love to see artwork from lots of different people, but all using the same prompts and inspiration. I am thinking about posting about prompts and techniques on my blog soon…we may have to exchange some ideas. Thanks for reading and I love your post.

    • Hi Bad Jones,
      Isn’t it incredible, the possibilities? I could set an apple out for them to render and I would get ten different apples. For me?…that is what I find thrilling about art. Thank you!

  6. I always love seeing your students’ work. They are all so talented, and I’m sure they all take after their teacher. I swear, one day I will sign up for your class.

    • They surpass me! That is the wonderful joy of this being able to follow them as they become more and more confident in their expressions. I am thankful that they do the work each week because they have to spend quite a bit of home time to get it done.
      Oh to live closer to one another! After viewing your flowers, today, I could learn a thing or two more from you! http://carolking.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/mothers-day-flowers/
      …and who taught who about Citrasolv? …and including a segment in my classes about all the different ways to paint trees? YOU!
      Thank you, Carol. 🙂

  7. My comment is posted after the linked display of your students’ artwork. A great group – brought to their toes by a great teacher. Well done, Leslie.

    • Thank you, Amy. Especially for that comment on the student art 2 page about these sketches, above. What fun!…..and I know you know that we were chuckling about looking at each other.

  8. What a fun assignment and I love seeing the slideshow. I think it must be great fun, as well as inspiring, to take your class!

    • Thanks, Amber. I hope they find the joy in what they are doing. From time to time everyone hits a stumbling block but it is never longer than a week. We learn from each other because everyone shares and talks about what they create each week. I sometimes find myself wishing I was one of them and someone else was teaching. 🙂

  9. Such fun drawings…are you the person with the glasses on?

  10. First, I have to say that I am so impressed that you put up a slide show… and thanks for doing it.

    I went to an art class one, which included the same circle exercise. In the end, it seemed like we each saw the other person looking a lot like ourselves. Disconcerting and interesting.

    You know you are beginning to inspire me. I can’t work with paints (allergies), but no reason not to try out colored pencils and I’ve always liked working in charcoal.

    Thanks for me fine posts and artwork.

    Hugs!
    JamieDedes

    • When I set this up as a gallery, I saw this choice “slide show”. Amazing for this “techno dummy” to have just noticed that. 🙂 Now I wish I had taken more pictures of their drawings…..
      It is an eye opening experience when we discover our likenesses and it is just a few lines that make the difference between a likeness of you and a likeness of me. Taking that one step furthur?Regardless of one’s skill it is truly difficult to not include something identifiable about the other person. (That’s if you are truly looking at them when you draw them.)
      That’s music to my ears. Pick up those pencils or the charcoal. I don’t think you will be disappointed. If you are not allergic to black ink, that may be a possibility. You can paint with it. They sell both waterproof and watersoluble and different values can be attained by adding water. 140 lb Arches coldpress paper can be used and it will give you the feeling of watercolor.
      Thank you for your thoughtful remarks, Jamie!

  11. It must be so rewarding to teach the ‘subject’ that you personally love so much! I took a look at your Student Art page…I’d be happy if I could draw/paint even half as well as they can! Awesome! 😀 xx

    • Hi Chloe,
      Thank you for taking a look at their page. I get so excited when I see each of their creations each week. Then I put them in a gallery like this and I am bowled over by their vision and dedication. Thank you. 🙂

  12. My guess is a certain teacher received some excellent evaluations. Cool sketches. Enjoyed the slide show. Enjoy your break.

    • They said they want summer classes… 🙂 I’m up for it if the group I work for says OK. Thank you, Adam. I am working on learning new techniques for next year, already. Hopefully I will be able to help those who lean toward abstract a little better for the time I devote to trying some things, myself this summer.

  13. These are great! Very interesting and creative group of students you have. I like your style of teaching… would’ve been great to have you for a drawing teacher. 😀

    Some people are meant to be teachers — like you and then, there are people like my Freshman year’s drawing 101 teacher who shouldn’t teach. This teacher insults his students by throwing their work on the ground and stumps on it, telling the shocked art student their work is bad. I’m sure he killed quite a few artist dreams in the process.

    • Emily. I know you speak the truth about this instructor. I was told by two of my art friends, here, that they attended a well known artist’s workshop ( this has been about five years ago ) and he did just that! I would say, tall tale, but I have met many who think their way of creating is the “ONLY” way. BORING!!!!!!
      I had a very good teacher that helped me to get started in the 80’s. She warned me of this and said to remember that I have choices about who I wish to learn from. Take classes from those where you see improvement in your work and seem genuinely interested in your marks you make. That has served me so well.
      Thank you for this comment. I have a great group of students who help me to help them.

  14. I always love seeing your students art work. They are really talented. I’m sure you are great teacher, Leslie!

  15. I think your students are very lucky to have a teacher like you. 😀

  16. I get this instinctive impression that your students look forward to your classes.
    Those sound like they were some really fun projects

    • Not all of my assignments reach out to everyone. I hope that through exposing all to various forms of creating and offering them different techniques will help to give them an amount of knowledge to move forward with. Sort of like tools and skills of the trade. Through our sharing sessions, I hope they acquire new ways of seeing what they create and other directions they may have available to them through the power of suggestion. I also hope that by sharing what we do via this blog will help to offer others insights into things they can do to enhance their work, too. Thank you. I am inspired by the creative efforts you put forth, also!


Leave a Reply

