Skip navigation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank-you to all who have visited this blog this year.  I continue to learn from and be furthur inspired by your comments.

Thank-you to fellow bloggers who have posted their writing, photography, and art for me to read and view.  You have opened my vision to look deeper.

I wish you all a HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

The above painting was finished from this gouache resist:

For step-by-step instructions on how to do a gouache resist from start to finish, click here.

50 Comments

  1. Happy New Year, Leslie, and thank you for all of your post with clear explanations. You have been such an inspiration for me.

    • Thank-you, Debbie! You have taught me to trust that I can deviate from my photo reference and allow creativity to flow. Happy New Year to you!

  2. Oh, my lovely artist friend, Happy New Year to you, too. It has been in many respects a wonderful year of friendships, thanks to people like you. I so enjoy reading your blog and viewing your and others work.

    BTW, I think you will like tomorrow’s post. I put together 50 photographs from posts from 2010 – some mine, some others, and created a slide show. So much fun!

    • Happy New Year Back at you, dear Kate! I wouldn’t miss 50 Bigsurkate photos in a slideshow for anything! What fun! 🙂

  3. Thank you for exposing your soul so continuously. I am in such awe of you, Leslie, but I promise I don’t have you on a pedestal. I care for you too much for that. It’s just that you share yourself so openly and seamlessly in any art form.

    And 2011 is just the next stage. Blessings on your deepest hopes.

    • At first, I was only going to visit the art on paper or canvas blogs. How shallow of me. I have found art in humor and poetry and writing stories as well as beautiful photographic images. I have seen places I would never get to see in my lifetime on these blogs. Along this journey of blogging, I have learned that we are all artists. Thank-you, Amy, for your vision and your dedication to blogging. Happy New Year and 2011? Here we come!

  4. Les, the colors are so vibrant! I love the reds and am amazed this bright rich color is coming through with a watercolor technique.
    Cheers to 2011 and another wonderful year.

  5. Happy New Year to you, Leslie. What a lovely painting of a wine glass and grapes. Love the draped fabric!

    Thank you for always teaching us something new. You are an inspiration.

    • You, your vision, your humor can’t be matched! Thank-you, Carol! I have one thing I have to do this spring, if I can remember, and that is to find a water tower, here, and paint it for you to see! 🙂 You have opened my eyes, through your workshops (citra solv) and your paintings of New York and made me believe there is nothing we can’t paint! I thank-you and Happy New Year!

  6. Wishing you a wonderful New Year’s Eve full of fun, food and family. May the New Year bring happiness, health and lots of time to paint. You have been a friend, an inspiration and a teacher and I can’t thank you enough for making 2010 brighter. (PS I really like this painting and I’ve got to try this technique. Your colors POP!)

  7. WOW! I love the deep colors and all the drama in this one, Leslie! So fitting for a New Year’s Eve toast. I really want to thank you for your friendship and inspiration over the last year. When I get my pilot’s license, I’d love to come to Indiana and plein air paint with you for a day. Wouldn’t that be fun! Happy New Year, my friend!

    • Thank-you, Beth. Somehow I knew you would not mind the “RED”. 🙂 Check this out, Beth: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smith_Field_(Indiana)
      This is a small airfield near me! Wouldn’t that be fun? I’d love that!
      Happy New Year!

      • Oh YAY!!! I can do that…. well… I’ll soon be able to do that! It’s cool to have something like that to look forward to. It’ll make all the studying a little easier, for sure! Thanks for placing that little image in my head! **big grin**

      • I didn’t know if this is the kind of airfield you would have to land at, but a friend of mine and I went there and drew about 6 years ago.

  8. Leslie,
    Happy new year to you too!!!
    First on the painting above, I love the reflection that shows in the glass. It seems that it would be particularly challenging to capture the bend and shine of the glass… You’ve really given it a 3d look and the grapes look like you could reach out and grab one. I like that the top of the glass is white but still has touches of green in it. It’s simply beautiful and a fitting piece for the end of the year.

    And, a big THANK YOU not only for continuing to post poetry inspiring art work, but for continuing to read and comment on my work. I know you inspire others to paint and although I’m not much of an artist, I too appreciate the fact that you show and explain the different stages of your work. I do plan to get back to sketching this year and will post at least one of them :D… I hope you will endeavor to write a piece or two of poetry this year… I know you can do it, you posted one in a comment on my sketch 😉

    Happy new year to you … may you find what your heart seeks and grow in ways unexpected…

    Peace,

    Stephen

    • Hi Stephen! I have been dropping by and missed you posting, as of late, so this is wonderful to hear from you. The most difficult part of this painting was that resist process and hoping that the shapes I had saved to be black would be enough for this to read as glass. The second challenge was working with all this red.
      I love visiting writer’s blogs because I am an avid reader and, as you know, I consider writing an art form. You rock and I will follow you. Happy New Year, Stephen!
      Oh yes. I wrote something for Wrick here just last night! : http://19planets.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/haiga-and-haiku-ku-on-this-001-2010/

  9. I had to call my kids into the office to see this one Leslie…suffice to say you got a ton of comments over my shoulder (very vibrant, WOW!). I love the richness and depth so inviting in this image.

    So grateful for you and for the soulful spill of your hands, heart and mind…Happy New Year to you…

    • You did? Really? That means a lot that you share something I create with others. Thank-you, JRuth! Happy New Year to you and your family!

  10. Happy New Year to you too,Leslie! I always learn new things from your blog. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience with us.

    • Hi Raji. 🙂 Thank-you. I enjoy learning from you, also. Afterall, you taught me this technique of gouache resist, if my memory serves me correctly. Thank-you for that and this incredible journey in sharing. Happy New Year!

  11. That silky, shock Red gives a wonderful tantalizing effect and instantly sends me into Party mood.. And of course it is just the time of the year for that!! Yay, happy new year to you Leslie, hope we get to see more of your marvels!
    Rachana.

    • Thank-you, Rachana. I agree that the time of year allowed me to get away with playing with reds. 🙂 In answer to more art appearing here this year? Yes. Thank-you for your writing and vision through story, Rachana. Happy New Year!

  12. Happy New Year to you too,Leslie
    I always love coming here and enjoy your amazing work!
    Hugs
    Marinela x

    • The feeling is mutual, Marinela. I enjoy your poetry and vision! Happy New Year!

  13. Happy New Year, Leslie!

    Thank you for being a friend to me and for sharing your art! Wishing you a brilliant and creative year!

  14. Oh, and I forgot to ask: where is the cheese? I always have grapes and cheese with a glass of wine, and here the cheese is missing… I don’t understand… 🙂

    • Ha! Ha! Love this. I should have thought of the cheese! 🙂 I could have easily done that and the thought never crossed my mind. Yellow would have been nice; or a creamy color with some tomato and basil spotted throughout. See? This is another reason why I blog. Thank-you, Alex!!!!! Happy New Year!

  15. Happy New Year, Leslie!
    Thank you for posting your beautiful paintings and your techniques and long may you continue!
    🙂

    • Hi Val! Thank-you for the drawings, the digital beauties and the stories you share throughout the year. Happy New Year to you and your family!!

  16. A big Happy New year to you too! And thank you for being such an inspiration always..

    • Hi Isabelle! Happy New year to You! Your vision has always held my attention and don’t forget that you are the reason I attempted a beach painting! 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your family.

  17. Much Love and Joy to you, Leslie. You are a treasure for all the good things you share with everyone. Namaste.

    • Hi Eva! Thank-you for this and the vision you have given me about all things possible if we only choose to! Happy New Year!

  18. What a beautiful red you used. That color is striking. Great job on the glass reflections. I always find that so difficult. Happy New Year!

    • I find glass difficult, also. I resort to recording just what I see in shapes and values. Never am I totally exact. 😕 Thank-you and Happy New Year, Little Lynx!

  19. This sounds like an interesting technique-aside from the finished version,I like the flat almost print-like quality you’ve got in the stage before it’s actually finished. Is this the stage where you have washed off the ink & not yet done any more brushwork?

    • Thank-you, Sonya. Yes. That is the stage after washing and allowing the paper to dry. I like the almost blockprint- like quality to these, also. Happy New Year!

  20. Happy new year to you and your family Leslie!
    I want to thank you for the past year of inspiration and motivation. I hope the new year is a healthy, creative year for you. I click my glass to yours for a wonderful year to come.

  21. Happy New Year to you Leslie,what better way to end the past and begin with the new with a toast. Wish you and your family have a great year ahead and stay healthy always.

    • Thank-you, Francis! A toast to you for all things good this year!!

  22. Great still life.
    I know how difficult getting the reflections in a glass can be to get right.
    It’s an admirable result

    • I know what you mean. Glass is tricky. You can be working along and think you are just doing great and one misplaced brushstroke can ruin it. I think the challenge in this was wondering if I could do it with that ink resist. This one was like putting a jigsaw puzzle together. Thank-you, Richard.
      Hey! Happy New Year to You! 🙂

  23. And thank you for your persistent, positive, optimism. You really are an elixir. You are such a connector. I look forward to another year if we are all spared, to enjoy your open heart and courageous innovation.
    So there – you are a real friend.

    • Morning, Stephen! I have folowed you and Carol for so LONG and neither of you have disappointed me, EVER!! I would sorely miss the contact would either of you stop this journey. I have learned much from the two of you and YOU are TRULY a friend! Happy New Year, and Thank-you!

  24. I love the way you demonstrate the process by which you paint, it’s very helpful. Another beautiful example.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] I have described the process here. I have used this technique for a landscape, animals, and still life but had not tried a human portrait. I used a really interesting book titled “Facial […]

Leave a Reply

