Skip navigation

This painting was a continuation of  my studies with the Don Andrew’s DVDs from the previous post. I was not totally happy with the water washes I had created in the last painting and I lost the light in my washes on the prominent foreground cliff platform where the viewer stood. In this one I concentrated on painting my washes in such a way as to enhance the flow of the water and retain the light and washes mingling together on the forground cliffs.  I attempted to lead the viewer’s eye through the darks of the cliffs and the white caps on the water to the area where the waves were crashing. To make the white dots of spray, I splattered with masking fluid or what some artists call liquid frisket. I was careful to surround the area I wished to splatter with newspaper so I had some control of the area to be splattered. I soaped the end of a wet round brush (the soap helps to protect your brush from damage from the masking fluid). I then dipped the brush in the masking fluid and tapped the handle of the brush on a pencil that I held in my other hand  over the area to be splattered. The abstract qualities to a landscape are increasingly interesting me and I am beginning to see that I can use Andrew’s teachings and begin to apply them to the way I normally paint.  This one was fun!

44 Comments

  1. This is excellent work Leslie. I love the cuts in the rocks, which remind me of the Plato’s in New Mexico. I suppose because of the tops being flat.
    I really like the way the water comes into the mini gulf and makes it’s splash.

    • “Cuts”are a good way to describe the edges of these rocks. That is what I felt like when I did the pre-drawing of them, like I was cuting them out. Thank-you for the visit and comment, Debbie.

  2. This is a very successful exercise Leslie! I love the splatterings of the surf! that masking fluid is lethal for ruining brushes (it’s the same as liquid latex and dries so quickly). Using the soap is a very good tip! I really like the darks of these rocks and I’m really enjoying sharing your journeys with these videos Leslie – they look fun to do too:)

    • I learned the tip on the masking fluid from another artist’s book on technique a while back. I bought the small covered dish of hard brush soap and wet the surface of it with a couple squirts from a spray bottle and then drag my brush through it. My brushes clean up, after use, real easily for having done this. Thank-you, Lynda!

      • Its a smashing painting as always Leslie! You are so generous in your tips and your tutorage! A truely generous person and a joy to everyone who reads your blog – sincerely pleased to have come across your blog!

      • Thank-you, again, Lynda. I struggled with applying the liquid frisket until I read this tip, actually avoiding it when it could have been used to enhance an area in some way. Hope it helps others. I have never understood those few artists who don’t share how they do something. I have yet to see one person actually use any technique, especially in watercolor with the exact same results.

  3. Hi Leslie,
    I love your painting !! I love the rocks and the sea. And I really like your technique.
    Keep it up.
    Jan

  4. This is lovely, Leslie. I would love to live near a coastline like this. It’s neat how you managed to capture the spray of the sea on the rocks using watercolor!

  5. I think it is quite beautiful.

  6. How big is this piece Leslie?
    I absolutely adore it – Surely this one is more than just an exercise. It should be framed and hung somewhere to be enjoyed.

    • Thank-you so much, Kirsty. That is high praise indeed! This painting measures 12.5 inches by 18.5 inches. Shortly, I’ll move up a little to half sheets (15×22) for some of my paintings but I have 40 sheets of this size paper I’m working thru. This was painted on a 14 x 20 sheet but I tape the borders per my framer’s request.

  7. I know I said I wasn’t commenting on blogs any more but just cannot hold back my “W.O.W. !!!!”

  8. Be still my heart!!! 😀

    Leslie, you are blowing me away with these paintings! I really love the colors and techniques that you are using! Thanks so much for sharing your methods. I am one of those people who is afraid of frisket. I may try it now. he he

    Your tip reminds me of a tip I saw on someone’s blog, that I now use religiously. Drop a bar of Ivory soap into a jar of water. It is the very best brush cleaner and conditioner. It even works on brushes you have used with oil based paints. After a while, you have a jar of gray slime, due to all the gunk it has cleaned from your brushes, but they come out so soft and clean! I will just keep tossing mine into the slime. 🙂

    • Thank-you, Beth. That is such a cool idea especially for acrylic and oil painters. Thank-you for the visit and the tip! 🙂 Happy flying!!!!!!!

  9. The color in this painting is very exciting and beautiful and full of sunlight. I saw Don andrews paint a demo at the Watercolor Society’s annual meeting last year. He is a very generous person and a remarkable painter. I can’t wait to see what you do next!

    • Thank-you, Linda. I will keep working on it in between other things that I do. These paintings have been experiences in something new for me, also. I have one I am going to start and cannot find that pathway of light, so it may not turn out the way these have. This is so NEW to me, but something I feel very worthwhile and beneficial.

  10. Leslie these last few paintings are terrific.
    They remind me of Lake Superior which has a lot of that type of rock Canadian Shield) around it.

    • So it is termed Canadian Shield. Thanks for the comment, Richard, and I learned something new, too!

  11. It looks like it was fun.
    And great result too.
    I could imagine myself wading in such waters.
    In whitby at the end of the beach there were some rocks and when the tide was low i used try to use them as stepping stones.
    I lost my footing once and oops. all wet

    • WHOOPS! I hope you didn’t fall very far! Thanks, Richard, for the visit and the comment!

  12. Great painting 🙂 Also want to try painting a bit scared but I am just going to dive in. Tried when I was way younger. All my artistic abilities are self taught so my work won’t be as attractive as the next painting but i am gonna give it a go. Thanks to you and others I am inspired to try it.

    • Just jump right in, Alonso. My best advise, if it is to be watercolor, is to make sure you buy good quality watercolor paper. If you can find 140 lb coldpress Arches, you will have a versatile paper to try techniques you read about. Masking tape it on four sides to a drawing board.The paper will ripple some while wet, but will go flat again when it dries if you leave the tape on. A lot of people try on drawing paper and cheap watercolor paper and lose interest really fast. You can watercolor on these other surfaces but it is much harder and some of the papers won’t allow you to try techniques you read about. Thanks for visiting and for the comment!

  13. I can see you moving into abstract waters (pun intended) and I like it.

    The rocks are beautiful and I love the deep darks at the end along with the white splash of the water.

    • That is exactly what I thought while painting this, Carol, how much it began to look like an abstract. I am horrible with abstracts so maybe I can sneak in the back door to a few with these things I’m learning! Thanks for the comment!

    • its great hey Carol – painting shades in water is – well I find it hard and this is great

  14. great to follow your journey with these videos Leslie. and the work you are producing is excellent!

  15. I should get lessons from you on painting rocks; These fascinate me, but I am overwhelmed each time. These are so beautiful, colorful and really portray the idea of rocks ! Beautiful Leslie !

    • I really have not spent much time painting rocks, before, Isabelle. I can tell you that I used very little brown. I used oranges, greens, reds and some blue. If an area wasn’t dark enough I fed in some vandyke brown on the paper while it was still wet. I’ve missed you! I keep seeing the back end of a bread truck when I’ve come for a visit! 🙂

  16. dear leslie,

    what a dramatic painting you’ve got here. i wanted to live near the sea, with it’s rugged coastline. the beauty of this painting is giving my imagination a free roam. i would dream myself standing on one these rocks and thanking what an awesome sight i have seen.

    thank you for this lovely art!

    • My sister, who took the photos that I am using for the coastline paintings, would like to live near the sea, also. I imagine it an awesome sight in person. Thank-you, Marvin!

  17. Hey Leslie – this is a real change in direction – I love the flat rock in the foreground (look at the colours!!!) and the angular shapes in the background – This is so good – all the shadows glow too – ai – mooi man – S

    • I think the flat rock in the foreground is my favorite part of this one because I blew it on my first attempt on the other coastline painting. Thank-you, Stephen! Your comment means a lot especially because you paint subject material like this so well.

  18. Hi Leslie! It’s been so hot here that I would love jumping off your coastline into some COLD waters! Lovely piece this is.

  19. I really love the layers of rock you created. They look so nice, the shadow and the lighting just right. Nice work.

    • Thank-you, Francis.Painting those rocks was oddly like putting a jig-saw puzzle together. I had to keep getting up and stand away from it so I could visualize where to go next.

  20. I really like the fresh clarity you’ve got in this one. The flat washes are very successful for the rocks.

    • Thank-you, Sonya. I am not real comfortable with landscapes and as I approached this painting what struck me, first, were shapes. I think that is what led me to layer washes.


Leave a Reply

