Skip navigation

  Blind Continuous Line

  Continuous Line Contour

In beginning drawing, we, once again, began by learning how to feel the edges of the subject by drawing in continuous line. The artist directs his attention to the object and imagines the point of his pencil traveling in, around and over the form he wishes to draw. Rarely are these drawings in proportion. Always, this kind of attention spent on studying an object offers some knowledge that the artist can use in a finished piece. Next, we concentrated on drawing the object (objects) in continuous line while alternating looking at the object to looking at our paper while still pretending to move our pencil over and around the subject material. The above are my two drawings of my grand daughter’s potato heads. When I completed the second drawing, I couldn’t get the fun forms and personalities out of my head. Soooooooo below is what they grew into. I had a blast! 🙂

    The Painting

Just found out there was a Mr.Potato Head Blog.

Check out Kokot’s continuous line drawing and watercolor here. Thanks for giving it a try, Kokot!

39 Comments

  1. heh heh – what a cool subject – did you actually have these guys posing for you? nice colours Leslie

    • Yep! 🙂 My Granddaughter had designed their personalities that day and I nabbed them for this exercise. I could not have done the continuous line drawings without them sitting in front of me. At least they aren’t perching on my arm while I’m trying to work like your chicks are. LOL! Thanks Stephen!

  2. Even your blind contour is full of vitality and fun. They are wonderful!

    • Thank-you, Linda. This is one of my favorite ways to study something. Every once in awhile I get an image that I just can’t help but play around with.

  3. lol. i remember these.
    what a cool excersise.
    i really should have a go at this technique

    • Thanks Kokot. If you do try these, don’t give up. You get better with practice. The nice thing about it is that it really does help the artist to see things about the subject material that he may leave out.

  4. What fun! I love your line drawings too!

    We have a closet full of toys and stuffed animals that I am planning to draw or paint some day… Toys are excellent models, they are not fussy and don’t get tired! 😀

    • Thanks, Alex. Jay (http://jaybastian.com/) got me started using toys when we painted together last winter. There are some things that I like drawing and painting and others that really never pan out. It is GREAT practice!

  5. This is fabulous Leslie – so loose and free. My daughter is envious of your abilities – I will tell her to practice!

    • Thank-you Kirsty! Your daughter could do this. Just takes a bit of practice and looking at the subject and pretending like you are stroking the object with your pencil as you glide it across the paper. Try it without looking at the paper and then while looking back and forth from the object to the paper. Remind her that these are always a little distorted!…..and above all, have fun. 😉

  6. These are sooo funny – I didn’t even know they still made these. I love your painting – they look like some kind of crazy disorganised army.

    • Thanks Sarah. Yep. They make whole sets of them, now, as well as the individual ones. They even make a smaller potato Head series that is about half the size of the originals. Then they have collector Potato Heads, also, like your favorite football team, etc. We have fun making personalities and imagining what their names might be.

  7. Wonderfully playful love your touch.

  8. Love the potato heads Leslie! Very colorful. Is that a platypus at the front?

    • LOL. Thanks Heather. The one in the lower right is supposed to be a transformer (like some truck or something?). The guy in the lower left is a chef. Now, let me explain that my grand daughter changed some of their pieces/parts around the way she thinks they should look. She enjoys making these characters and telling me about who they are.

      • Haha! I initially thought it was a transformer, but thought my eyes were deceiving me, then I thought I saw the bill of a platypus. Should’ve gone with my instincts!

  9. they look really fun! i noticed another artist has recently made a painting of one potato head… hey is this the ‘in’ thing to do and maybe my next portrait will have to be a potato head:))

    • I would love to see the other Potato Head if you run across the link again, Rahina. I never gave a thought to it being “in”, lol. I was looking around for something challenging to do with blind line and continuous line and grabbed them because I’ve not tried a grouping before. I look at my plants and other things around my house, daily, and wanted it to be something I don’t normally look at or would choose to draw and paint. I’ve found out a lot about myself and where I need to improve by doing this sort of thing, once in awhile. Thanks for the thoughtful comment!

  10. Well I suppose there has to be a Mr PH blog – I enjoyed them in toy story –
    Hey Leslie – you could be starting a movement here…

    • Wouldn’t that be something? Potato Head Mania in the art world! LOL! Would you do Potato Head Mountain Climbing or Surfing? Wonder if Andy Warhol got his start this way. Too funny! 🙂

  11. There’s a bit of sunshine for you and your potatoes on my blog. Come bask in it when you get the chance. 🙂

    • Thank-you, Yousei, for awarding the Sunshine Award to me. I will pass it on! 🙂

      • You’re berry, berry welcome. I love the transformer potato-head. 😀

  12. So Cool…… I love the painting! As a pediatric therapist I have been playing with the deluxe Mr. and Mrs. potato head set for years.

    Bet I know what your granddaughters are getting for Christmas next year. Go Bears!!!!!!!!!!

    • Thanks Nan! They have already been receiving them. Corey gave Glen’s kids the Bears one and Glen put it up for awhile claiming it was a collector’s piece. LOL

  13. This is really dynamic, colorful and interesting. Any kid would just love to have this in her room. This is an innovative project. I love the toy as subject matter. You should initiate a toy contest!

  14. They are so fun to look at.It just fills me with a smile especially during this start of the week thing. Actually i just play with one of them just yesterday with my kid and we have such fun with it and today i saw them on your post.

    • Thanks, Francis. We play with them too! I think they have gained in popularity lately.

  15. these are great drawings and I love how you took it a step further and did such a fun painting. Does your grand-daughter get to keep the painting for her room?

    • Thank-you, Carol. I actually thought of you and Matt when I did this. There is a policeman in the upper left and don’t you think that lady in the upper right could be you? 🙂 My Grand daughter really liked it but did not like that she had to wait one extra day to play with them again so I could finish the painting. She wants me to draw her one to paint herself.

  16. I stumbled onto your blog via kseverny’s recommendation -your art is amazing and inspiring! Thank you for sharing! This post in particular caught my eye~ I haven’t seen potato heads since I was a kid!

    • Hi Bauhaus! Thank-you for stopping by. I just took a look at your blog. Now, I think you really liked these because of the something whimsical? Am I right? and colorful? LOL Thanks for commenting!

      • Whimsical, colorful, playful, downright fun! So much can be taken out of your work 🙂

  17. Haha how cute, wee spud heads as we would call them here in Ireland 🙂

    All things nice…

  18. I love mr. potatoe head… aww it reminds me of a happier time.. he he!!!

    • Thanks, Tristan. I know you could do this. Do you have any old toys laying around to use as models?


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By New Blog Banner « Shiteki Na Usagi on 02 Mar 2010 at 10:47 pm

    […] each piece.  Some of my recent favorite ones are:  a griffin, a yellow tabby, and some adorable potato heads. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Hello Everyone!Face lift.GACKT Community Blog […]

  2. By Exploration by kseverny. « Kseverny's Blog on 15 Mar 2010 at 7:44 pm

    […] A practice piece inspired by leslie’s continuous line drawings. […]

Leave a Reply

