Skip navigation

I visit Sarah’s blog Curious Crow on a regular basis. I began following her on a previous blog because I enjoyed her honest and loose blind continuous line drawings. Continuous line is what caught my attention, first, as an artist so I have a very basic liking for it.  It is something about the honesty, the study and what it captures so simply. I have also enjoyed her very detailed studies in Art History and her posts that discuss the process behind how she creates something. Recently, she has been doing many drawings with her non-dominant hand.  I have often believed that drawing and painting with our non-dominant hand helps us to slow down and actually study and feel the contours and form of our subject material better. So, “hats off to you, Sarah”, for your continued sharing of your journey in the art world.  🙂

Recently, Sarah commented on my Holstein Cow post and mentioned that she liked my cow but that sheep were her favourite. I decided I’d try a sheep and went to wet canvas and found this lovely image. I drew and painted it, snapped a picture to load it and resolute it.  I went back to wet canvas to see if there was anything identifying this sheep by breed and it said “Angora Goat”!  I’m sorry Sarah! I drew and painted a goat for you! 🙂

Another site I visit, frequently, for his lovely loose rendering in line and continuous line is Antsketch. Thank-you for your drawings.

51 Comments

  1. How cute! Love the curls! Love the somewhat sleepy and sheepish (he-he!) expression. Love the background, it sets her (I think it’s a she) off so nicely. Is the background color burnt sienna?

    Thank you for painting her like this, Leslie! She made me smile and I needed it today.

    • Hi Alex. Thank-you for the comment. The background is several layers of burnt sienna and transparent yellow. Each layer was worked wet-in-wet to give that more textured look. I wanted the colors that I used in the sheep-goat ( 🙂 ) but wanted it to be very warm; thus my choice.

  2. I love how the orange in the background brings out the blue in the sheep’s fur. Is it a he or a she? I imagined it to be a he for some reason. Have a great DAY, Leslie!

    • Tacy! You are one bright girl! Did you learn about complimentary color in school? I think that is great because I didn’t get that from my public school art class background. I had to learn complimentary colors much later. I don’t know whether this is a girl or a boy. Here is a site about them and it says that both males and females have horns: http://www.ansi.okstate.edu/breeds/goats/angora/
      Sarah’s goat can be anything you want it to be, Tacy. 🙂

  3. Lol -thank you Leslie! Sheep or goat s/he’s got pleanty of personality and I love his/her coat.

    • You are welcome, Sarah. GRIN. I couldn’t believe I’d painted a goat for you because it sure looked like a sheep to me. Someday I will do a sheep. I was attracted to the coat, also, and figured it would be good practice to try rendering it.

  4. lol.
    classic.
    .
    Leslie this shoat is wonderful.
    i do like the colours in the coat and from the angle of the head looks like it wants some food.

    • I’m laughing right with you, Kokot. I looked up shoat and it can be a pig or some hybrid cross between a goat and a sheep! Go figure! Then, I imagine you combined sh with oat and got your shoat that way. 🙂 Thanks for the comment and the humor!

  5. Okay, and thank you! Thanks for editing my comment, too. 😀 No, i didn’t learn about complimentary colors in school, I just figured it out. KIDDING! My dad used to be a cartoonist but he still paints and sketches. He had a website, but he doesn’t have time to do it anymore. He told me everything I know about art. He told me the complimentary colors. When I was little and I wanted to color inside the lines and use the right color, he’d say “By all means, color that dog green! Art is anything you create. It doesn’t have to be perfect.” My brother used to want everything in his drawings to be perfect (he drew comics with his own super heros, for example, Snow Globe Man and Hiccup Guy) and my dad showed him the sloppiest painting he ever did, and my brother now doesn’t care about it being perfect. 😀 But here I go off on my stories. Thank you, leslie!

    -Tacy

  6. you are doing your friend a favor by trying to do a sheep, it ended a painted goat like this,
    I wish I have been more careful about the difference between a sheep and a goat, thank you for the outstanding job.

    • Thank-you, Jingle. I wish I had been more careful, also. Kokot solved it though, Jingle. He calls it a shoat! 🙂

  7. It’s a lovely creature, Leslie, whatever it is! The goats around here are nothing like this, then again neither are the sheep! I like the idea of a Shoat, and what a kind face this one has.I suspect that knowing look is especially for Sarah.

  8. Goat or sheep, this is a wonderful painting. The strokes and colors on the hair is so playful. Sometimes it is great to paint so loose and carefree.

    • Thank-you, Raji. I do strive for carefree and playful, so I’m very happy when my work appears such. I keep dropping by your blog in hopes you are able to post. I am assuming you are waiting for a scanner to be fixed?

      • My scanner is OK. Sometimes my PC behaves unexpectedly; totally shuts down. Nowadays, iPhone is my refuge for browsing but it has it’s limitations. I am working on one painting but I can’t believe how much I am getting interrupted. So the progress is slow.

  9. It’s a very funny sheep for me :)) I love the colors a lot and also his coat who is very long.Almost came in his eyes ;))
    Thank you for this post and for the laugh,Leslie.

    Enjoy the moment and have a special day too 😉

    • Thank-you Alina. I had fun with that coat to set of his/her “dread locks”! I thought he/she was beautiful and a sheep the whole time I was painting him. You have a great day, also!

  10. Those eyes look so real. How did you do that? They’re following me! (haha). I love all the colors.

    • Thank-you, Camilla. I can’t help myself with the color. Someday I’ll come back to earth and paint things more real (not!). The eye trick isn’t really a trick at all. If the artist paints from a photo or from life with the subject looking at him or the camera, the eyes will always follow the viewer. Look at family photos where the subject is looking at you. The eyes will follow you. For a long time, I thought it was a trick to do that. 🙂

  11. What a lively post and comments! Looks like loads of fun today. Beautiful painting. I have goats (not angora), and it looks like a sheep to me. LOL. Have a great day, Leslie!

    • Thank-you Yousei! This was a blast. I think it was fun painting him/her as a sheep and getting a goat. What kind of goats do you have. I raised Nubians when I lived on a small farm and loved every minute of caring for them and having them around. They are highly intelligent and my children and I enjoyed caring for them.

      • We have Nubian/Alpine (mainly) crosses with a little Boer thrown in. They are sweet, but a real pain if they are loose around the feed barrel. Want some more goats?

      • I probably would take you up on it if I still lived on a farm. 🙂

  12. Your comments about the goat are funny, and I love this “Sheep”, Leslie! He is beautiful, with his multicolored coat and his wonderful eyes! 🙂

    • LOL…..It’s a goat! 🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever had so much fun with a post. I will remember angora goats for the rest of my life. Thanks for the comment, Beth.

  13. I was wondering where all the colorful yarn came from, and now I know. This once again is a beautiful and fun painting.

    • Hi Ryan! LOL I never thought of that. If they were really this color, just think of the money that would be saved in dye!
      Thank-you for adding to the fun with this one! 🙂

  14. It’s a very nice goat. I like how you used the dark blue and light brown/orange (?) in the coat.

    • Thank-you, Littlelynx. I tried to use darks for the areas that were behind the “dreads” and the midtones or yellow/orange and lighter colors for the shaded side of those curly locks. What was left white was the part of each strand that came forward and looked white in the photo.

  15. Hi Leslie,
    It looks like this goat rolled in an artist’s palette! What a rainbow goat!
    Either that or some kids have got hold of her and spray-painted her tendrils of hair with punk colours.
    Anyway, it’s fun.
    K

    • Thanks, K. When you actually back off the original, these colors actually begin to blur together and give a more monochromatic look. The closer you walk to it, the more the color separates out and appears.
      I enjoyed your post about the “Red”show. Lovely paintings!

  16. Oh, I love this! I knit and I feel that I could cut the wool off this goat and use it to create something special. Each strand combined with another would make a brilliant color palette. Great color but also phenominal texture!

    • Thanks, Nancy! Actually, colored goat hair would actually be cool. When I read up about them they said this goat’s wool is used to make mohair.

  17. What a fun painting! So gay and funny! Wonderful bold colors !

  18. What a happy painting. Its gorgeous what ever he/she is. ‘rolled in an artists palette’ love it, looks spot on.

    • Thank-you, Paintedbrush. I like that idea of him rolling in an artist’s palette! 🙂

  19. Nice painting on the sheep. Seen them up close at NZ before, smelly but really cute. I really like the nose and the sheep hair especially.

    • Thank-you, Francis, especially the comment on the nose that I spent so much time on to get the variation in values and play with the darks under the chin to try and set it out there on the page. It means a lot that you picked up on that.

  20. Leslie, I look at this painting and KNOW you had fun doing it. Even if it is a goat – just gives you an excuse to do a sheep. Linda

    • Thanks Linda. I totally enjoy painting animals like some people are drawn to landscape and others to portraiture. This was fun and interesting because of the dread locks. I liked your painting on Yupo!

  21. …and that one penetrating eye! A real study!

    • Oh Kate.You are very noticing. The eye to the nose and back up to the eye. I give the credit for the composition to the photographer who submitted this to wet canvas for artists. I only had to crop in some to come up with this. Thank-you!

  22. What a gorgeous sheep, and I love how you’ve painted its wool. She’s very lifelike. Thanks for sharing the link to Sarah’s blog, it’s quite fascinating and have now subscribed to it.

    • Thank-you for the comment on my sheep/goat, Heather. I should have e-mailed you about Sarah, duh. I didn’t even think how beneficial her sight might be for those of you in school.

      • No worries Leslie! I always check your links so it’s no biggie. I think she’s in the UK too. I don’t know any fellow art blog friends in the UK, and she is sharing links to buy from UK sites, so that’s really handy. Excellent stuff!

  23. Goat, sheep….no matter. I love the different colors in the hair (fur?) and on the face. This is a beautiful image. You’ve done your goat proud!

    • Thanks, Carol. Several people said these would be cool colors from this goat to knit with. I thought of you and your knitting.


Leave a Reply

