Skip navigation

morningworkout

A few weeks ago I posted a rhino in this technique. I liked the technique so well, I decided to teach it with my Watercolor Plus class this fall. I like the block print look of them coupled with the more creamy look of the watercolor. After you wash the ink off , the paper still retains some gouache. I think it is this remaining gouache that mingles with your watercolors to make them respond different on the paper and look more creamy. We followed Sonia Leggett’s directions posted in Wet Canvas. I originally learned of this technique from Raji.

22 Comments

  1. After seeing this painting, I am falling more and more in love with this technique. You are right;maybe the creamy, hazy look is what contributes more to the appeal-factor in the painting. Thanks for linking me Leslie!

    • Thank-you, Raji. One of the things I like about this technique is all the work you have to put in before you even paint. There is also suspense because you never know how they are going to take the ink. Thank-you for introducing this to me.

  2. So rich and warm, impressive.
    hi leslie

  3. Hi Kokot. Had to check out your screenplay before answering this. The warm colors do come forward in this. Thanks!

  4. Lovely forward motion in this one – the scratchy marks left behind by the ink are very effective. This is definitely an interesting technique that I do hope to try…eventually.

    • Thanks, June. It seemed a little lonely without you around last week. The scratchy marks are fun because you never know what you are going to get. You put a lot of time in drawing, gouaching, inking and then washing all for a surprise!

  5. I do love the way this comes out! I’m not sure it’s something I’ll ever try, but I love seeing you do it. I’m a beginner in printmaking, and I sure wouldn’t miss the sore hands and arms from all the cutting and all the hand printing. ~grin~

    • Beth, guess what! It’s not a print. It only looks like one. You draw your picture on watercolor paper, lightly in pencil. Wherever you don’t want the ink to settle you paint those areas with gouache. After that dries overnight, you brush a layer of waterproof ink over that. After the ink dries, you hold your picture under water and wherever you have gouache, it washes off. Let that dry and then you have something that looks like a block print to paint. Check out the link above that says wet canvas. Thanks for the comment!

  6. Love the vibrancy and motion in this painting, its really effective, beautiful.

  7. It reminds me of stained glass. I love the “process-ness” of the technique, kind of like glazing and firing a bowl!

    • Thanks, Jack. I like all the steps to this, also. I like the surprise! I get when I wash the ink off. This is truly a technique where each step requires some input in creativity because an element of control is removed.

  8. The outcome is very impressive.It resembles block drawing but does not require creating a wood block. This i must try. I have been fascinated by the japanese wood block drawing for quite some time just that they are too difficult to do.

  9. I love this! Horses are so beautiful. This looks so real, I can see them running out of the painting.

  10. Japanese wood block printing – that’s what it reminds me of. I like the rich colours too.

    • Thanks Sarah! That’s what it reminds me of too. That rich color has to be the remaining gouache on the paper mixing with the watercolor giving it a creamy look.

  11. Wow – this is amazing! You really are so good – there is so much movement.

    • Yay! You are back. Thanks for the comment Stephen. I switched the address in my watercolor section to your new site. I’ve visited several times and enjoyed your galleries. Now….start painting again….please.

  12. great movement in this painting and the colors are fabulous. I think it was Jack who said it looked a little like stained glass and I agree.

    Geez, you’ve been busy! You are an inspiration.

    • Thank-you Carol. I love this technique and I will do more of them. I think it’s the primitive quality this technique offers.


Leave a Reply

