Skip navigation

rhinoresist    The initial resist

rhinoresist2   The painting from the resist print

This is a new technique called gouache resist that I just tried and had never heard of before. I found it by visiting Raji’s Art Pearls blog. Please visit her site and read about this technique as she has taken the time to link to a wet canvas site that explains this technique step-by-step. She has also included a link to the artist web site who paints this way and has many of her finished paintings posted.

My print is not as dark as I would have liked but I was still able to use it to paint from. The ink offered incredible patterns to enhance the finished result. I will be teaching this technique as part of my Watercolor Plus class. I think it is an incredible exercise for making decisions about value, color and line.

27 Comments

  1. It’s Luminous.
    Leslie, it’s just lovely! Wow!

  2. This technique can be hit or miss. I’ve tried this in college and at home and it really comes down to how much gouache you apply. Yours has come out great though!

    • I didn’t wet my gouache very much. I used it a little more watery than the consistency of Elmer’s glue. I know why my ink was not strong enough. I put a few drops of water in it like the demo suggested because I thought the consistency might be a little too thick. I didn’t need to do that and won’t the next time. Thanks Heather!

        • heatherslalaland
        • Posted October 9, 2009 at 6:11 pm
        • Permalink

        The technique we use in class is slightly different. We don’t use watercolour at all (of course, gouache is just watercolour with chalk). We draw in with charcoal, then paint over whichever part with gouache (undiluted) and then once dry, cover with undiluted indian ink. Once dry, the ink is washed off under the tap, but we don’t use a brush. Of course, there isn’t a right or wrong way to do – just different ways! I’d say yours came out 100 times better than mine did!

  3. it seems to me that you have enough ability that you can take any new technique and master it instantly.
    i have total respect for you.
    Fantastic as usual

    • Wow, Kokot. Thank-you so much. You help me feel good about how I spend much of my time. You, the “great explorer”, many thanks.

  4. Very powerful. I absolutely love it. I like the first print as well. There is something of a cinema quality to it. I think its because parts seem out-of-focus. Really nice. It reminds me of the Buffalo.

    • Thank-you, Jay. I think it’s a lot like the buffalo because I left my line from the drawing clear of gouache. That graying is from applying lighter amounts of gouache there. This approach really makes you think about value.

  5. This is a fascinating and very effective technique. It has worked wonderfully well on your rhino with all that texture – I love all the detail and the unusual colours you chose. I also love the initial resist effect. Thank you again for sharing with all of us.

    • Thank-you, June. I would probably only use this technique for certain subject material, but the lady that taught it on wet canvas actually does landscapes with this tecnique. Quite interesting. Loved the portrait of your son!

  6. hey Leslie, another triumph….let’s get together and do animals when I get home.

    • Thanks, Tracey. I would love getting together and painting animals!

  7. There is a certain charm in doing a painting with gouache with ink resist. I also agree with you when you say that this technique works for certain subjects but if we try and explore, I am sure there are more surprises awaiting. I would love to do more paintings using Gouache and Ink resist. Thanks for mentioning me Leslie!

    • Thank-you, Raji, for a wonderful exercise! You did all the work of finding this technique and linking to the directions. I will do more of these, also. I even like the resist before it is painted.

  8. This is a very interesting technique Leslie.

  9. I have been watching others do this on Wet Canvas lately, but have never tried it. Your rhino turned out beautiful, Leslie!

    • Thank-you, Beth! It’s time consuming but the results are worth it for a little different look.

  10. Leslie, if I could quit my job and leave the city I would come and take all your classes.

    You are an inspiration…not just for all the beautiful work you post, but all the teaching you give us, your faithful readers.

    Love the Rhino and thanks for the info. He’s a beauty and is a wonderful addition to that book you’re gonna do: Peyton goes to the zoo

    • Thanks, Carol. That is a HUGE comment and it is deeply appreciated. I love “Payton Goes to the Zoo”. I am really not a writer, but maybe I could play around with something like the “Carl” books that tells the story in pictures?

  11. This is so interesting – the rhino looks like glazed pottery. You are a real adventurer Leslie – thanks for this

    • Thanks, Stephen. I guess he does look like glazed pottery with those lines running through him being those little lines in the glaze. Now, THAT would be a challenge! I’m always looking for something new that maybe I could do. I come across so many students whose interests are varied and styles that lend themselves to other techniques that I try to find approaches that will inspire.

  12. Never heard of it before. Very interesting. The painting kind of reminds me of Batik. Traditonally used by the Malay’s for their colourfull design of fabric.

    • Thanks, Francis. I had to look up batik. I think it is similar because the wax in Batik does what the gouache does in this technique.

  13. Love the zoo series, Leslie; especially the rhino.

    • Thank-you, Tom. I guess I am doing a zoo series.lol That will be never-ending on this art blog because they are my favorite things to paint!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Morning Workout: Gouache Resist « Leslie White on 08 Nov 2009 at 11:34 am

    […] few weeks ago I poste d a rhino in this technique. I liked the technique so well, I decided to teach it with my Watercolor Plus […]

Leave a Reply

