Skip navigation

Daisy is a friend of mine’s German Shepherd. I have been wanting to draw or paint her for awhile, now, so I did both. I have explained that I sometimes do both blind and looking continuous line drawings because they help me study the contours better. I took the time to do that with this project so you could see several different approaches.

daisybl    blind continuous line

daisylooking     continuous line looking

I attempt to include more when I look at my paper using continuous line. If I get tangled up in an area, I try to find a new contour to track back along. Remember to pretend you are feeling the object . Daisy is not flat like the side of a building so the strokes across her body will appear to be rounded if I felt her contours correctly.

daisy2   colored pencil

Here I tried a new paper, Stonehenge 250GSM. I’ve finally found a paper that I like for colored pencil. It takes many layers that lay on smooth and doesn’t leave those little white bumps. I found it on  Dissengallery Blog  blogroll’s art supply link.

I have been searching for a more free way to use my colored pencils than what I’ve been doing. I started this drawing with gesture to create the form. Over the top of  the gesture I drew the lines that I had practiced in the previous drawings. As the drawing began to take shape, I changed colors to correspond with my photo reference and started layering them in loosely.  This was a much more pleasing approach to colored pencil than what I have been doing . I’ll try some more of these and see where it takes me.

daisy3   watercolor

I then challenged myself  to create a watercolor of her using only the primary colors (red,yellow,blue). The above was the finished result. I used Lanaquerelle cold pressed 140lb watercolor paper. I like this paper for the soft wet look I seem to get with it.

The following blogs have tried a blind line and posted it!

Beth Parker

Tom at Crittur Art

34 Comments

  1. I wish I could draw like you do. They all look great, but my favorite is the one where you have used watercolors. 🙂

  2. WOW! What did I ever do before I learned about your wonderful blog?!

    This is a great post, Leslie. I love all of the stages and finished products! The contours alone, were inspiring, but the real treat came with the colored pencil drawing and the watercolor! Wonderful!!!

    • Thanks for the comment, Beth. I just visited your site and saw your Blind Contour of a landscape…….That was fun to see! I hope more artists try this some.

  3. Hey Leslie that coloured pencil drawing is wonderful and the blind contour drawing – tops – more inspiring stuff! thanks for showing us your process.

    • Hi Stephen. I have to keep up with all the spontaneous work that you are sharing. Your people in the airport paintings were very interesting. I want to see more of your progress with painting people!

  4. I see what you were talking about concerning the perspective of her legs, you did great!

    • Thanks for saying I did OKay, Tracey. It was difficult getting the composition and proportion on this one.

  5. Hi Leslie, This was great. Very Interesting to see all the different ways to portray Daisy, a beautiful dog.

    I really love the blind continuous line and will try that this weekend. Thanks for the inspiration. I also like seeing all the different variations you did.

    • Hi Carol. You know? I don’t do this very often, but when I do, it is fun to see all the different things that can be created. Thank-you for the comment. If you are going to try this, check out bethparkerart.wordpress.com. She tried it with a landscape!

  6. I like the color pencil sketch.The cross-hatching is really fast and confident. The colors soft and minimal.

  7. Neat progression, Leslie — “the many moods of Daisy,” in a way.

    • Thank-you, Tom. Wish I could take the time to work every piece this way. I used to do this when I first started drawing.

  8. That is an awesome blind contour drawing. Mine end up looking like a birds nest no matter what the subject.

    • Thanks, Bill for saying my blind contour is awesome. You know, if yours look like bird’s nests, that may not be a bad thing.

    • severnyproductions
    • Posted August 16, 2009 at 1:48 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    cool demonstrations as usual

    • Thanks, Kokot. I figured you would be one of the first to try this continuous line thing out…..I miss seeing more of your drawings on your blog.

  9. You have such a talent, and are such a marvelous teacher, too. I may get up the nerve to try a few things because of you.

    • Hi Kate. Thank-you so much for the great comment. I hope you do try some of this. Remember to be patient with yourself. You already have a host of knowledge that will carry over from your photography. Just keep reminding yourself that the hand has to feel the form that you see.

  10. Leslie,

    I am just completely amazed by what you have done with this. It is so wild to see the image of Daisy interpreted by your hand. It is just completely wonderful!

    -Jay

    • Thank-you, Jay. I had to do something special for your Daisy and I wanted you to know I did work on this one and try to get something of her soul even if I didn’t get the colors right or something.

  11. Your presention of your process is very interesting as you’ve set it forth in a progressive fashion from blind drawing to the watercolor of Daisy. While the realism of your pencil work is appealing–I find the color qualities of your watercolor rendition even more engaging.
    Hmm. thank you for this view into your creative process.

    • 47. Thank-you. I have a feeling you are not only a writer but an artist, also…. You seem to know a lot about the arts. I find your writing very impressive. I like how you totally understood the difference between the colored pencil and the watercolor.

  12. You’ve captured emotion in each of the pictures, but I must say I’m partial to the colored pencil drawing. The head alone is amazing; it’s easy when drawing an animal to get too caught into capturing the animal’s coat and lose the structure underneath, but this is perfect in that regard. It’s an interesting composition as well.

    • Thank-you, K. I know what you are saying. I have to remind myself all the time that I am just trying to capture the essence of something instead of describe every minute detail.

  13. Like this a lot. The watercolour is really interesting because the paint has the same fluid-line feel as the preceding drawings.

    • Thank-you antsketch. I was hoping I was getting the cross contours with the paint.

  14. Leslie I’m amazed at the time you’ve dedicated to illustrate your point to us. And you’ve done it beautifully – your skill is plainly evident in every image – they’re all wonderful. This line drawing topic is starting a life of its own.

    • Hi June. You know those continuous line drawings take just minutes to create.I do this sometimes when I am working on a project just to make sure I’m getting the form.In this case, her owner chose the colored pencil over the watercolor. Everybody’s tastes are different. So, I thought I’d share this idea with all of you because it went with the previous post.

  15. You definitely do not let mixed media frighten you! Hurrah for your versatility.

  16. I like the watercolor… its very nice!!!


Leave a Reply

