Skip navigation

gabe2

The last night of colored pencil class, the instructor gave us each a piece of  U-Art  800 paper. It is a very fine grained sheet of sanded paper. They also carry 400 U-Art paper for pastelists. This is the portrait I completed on my U-Art. I will definitely use this paper again. I loved how it felt to draw on. It did not eat my pencils up as quickly as other sand papers and clayboard have. I also like the fact that the background is a light tan color.That enables me to choose a wide range of colors to work with. There is a slight grain to the paper, so you start by working against the grain in your first layer and then at diagonals to the grain in subsequent layers. The finished product has a soft look to it. I have 4 layers on the background in this piece. It could have taken more.

2 Comments

  1. I am impressed with how quickly you finish something. Isn’t this the one that I just saw an outline of a couple days ago? I have been two days just working on inking my pencil sketch…too much stopping to do other things I guess! Again, nice addition to your wide collection of beautiful pieces Les.

    • Thank-you for the compliment. This is only an 8″x6″ piece. It took about 14 hours of work. I’m assuming your steam engine is much larger.


Leave a Reply

