Skip navigation

africanlandscape

I worked on several things in this painting. I wanted to furthur explore greens and all the colors that could be used with them. I created the fog on the distant hills by painting the first wash in color and allowing it to dry. Then I made a wash of white watercolor and washed it into the initial color. While the paper was still wet with that wash, I reintroduced the greens, reds, purples and yellows in the areas that you see them on the distant hills. I was careful to not let those colors interfere with the ones next to them. I used masking fluid and a small brush in varying layers to create the branches in the trees and on the ground as well as the grasses on the foreground hill in front of the hut.

3 Comments

  1. I like the contrasts between the foreground to the middle section to the mountains in the distance.

    • Thankyou, Kim. I was trying for that kind of division of space.

  2. Absolutely stunning! I love the wash of color to create the mist.


Leave a Reply

