Skip navigation

toucan

5 Comments

  1. This is so nice! The beak just jumps off the page.

    • Barbara Steinkamp
    • Posted September 15, 2009 at 12:45 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Of all your paintings, I like this one the best. One, you said the ink ran in a direction you did not intend. Did you give up on it, no. You made a great painting. I come to your website and look for your bird. It makes my heart sing.

    • Thank-you, Barbara! What a wonderful compliment to receive! Yep. The ink spread out rapidly under the toucan’s neck and went everywhere. I decided, oh well, maybe it denotes shadow. When an artist randomly squirts his ink lines with water, he has to be ready to accept the happy accidents that occur and go with the flow.

  2. Oh this is lovely! One of my favourites of yours, so far!

    • Thank-you, Val. There is not a lot of control of the ink when I work like this but I love how it separates into its’ own patterns when it contacts water. So, when I do this, each ink and watercolor can not be replicated. I think that makes these rather special.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Ink and Watercolor: Elephant 2 « Leslie White on 06 Dec 2011 at 1:01 pm

    […] examples of this technique are here and here. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Leave a Reply

